Marlene Gómez Becerra

Foto

International Research Training Group "Between Spaces"

Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalisation

Master Student

Field of Activity

Project: "The production of space and gender in cooperative peasant women communities in Camino, de Teuantepec, Oaxaca, Mexico (2000-2014). A decolonized approximation"

Email marlenegomezbecerra@comunidad.unam.mx

Courses and seminars

 

2010

Took part in the 31 hour long “Primer coloquio internacional del programa de investigación en Cambio Climático de la UNAM” (First international colloquium of the UNAM research program on climate change, November 8 through 11, 2010.

Assistant professor of Political Theory and Philosophy II of the career of Political Science in the UNAM Faculty of Political and Social Sciences (FCPyS)

2011

“Biopolitics and Violence” Seminar taught by Dr. Guillermo Pereyra Tissera in FCPyS, October 28, November 4, 11, 18 and 25, and December 2 and 9, 2011, lasting 20 hours

Assistant professor of “Political Theory and Philosophy II” of the career of Political Science of the UNAM –National Autonomous University of Mexico- Faculty of Political and Social Science

2013

Fellow of the "Políticas Públicas: de la pobreza-asistencia a la marginalidad- autonomía" (Public policies: from poverty-assistance to marginality-autonomy) PAPIIT project of the UNAM Institute of Economics

2014

Speaker in the “III Congreso red de investigadores sociales sobre el agua” (III Congress, network of social researchers on water), with the project “Sociedad y componentes de la vida: la necesidad de un nuevo sujeto epistémico del agua. El caso del
acuífero de la ZMCM” (Society and components of life: the need for a new epistemic subject of water. The case of the AMCM aquifer).

Speaker in the seminar “Análisis de un desastre a través de los medios de comunicación: Odile” (Analysis of a disaster through the media: Odile) in the UNAM Institute of Geography

2015

Speaker in the 11th PhD Colloquium: “Transformaciones del espacio. Integrando el conocimiento geográfico” with the project “Hacia una propuesta de ordenamiento territorial comunitario: el caso de las Comunidades Campesinas en Camino” (Space transformations. Integrating the geographical knowledge, with the project Towards a proposal for land use planning: the case of Comunidades Campesinas en Camino –Rural Communities on the Road-

Speaker in the 5th Congress of UNAM graduate students with the project: “Hacia una propuesta de ordenamiento territorial comunitario: el caso de las Comunidades Campesinas en Camino” (Towards a proposal for community land use planning the case of Comunidades Campesinas en Camino.)

Participation and accreditation of the course "GIS with free and open source software systems" of the UNAM Institute of geography

"The production of space and gender in cooperative peasant women communities in Camino, de Teuantepec, Oaxaca, Mexico (2000-2014). A decolonized approximation”


Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Marisa Belausteguigoitia Rius (UNAM)


General objective

Analyze dis-colonial processes, building space and gender in the process of establishing the Comunidades Campesinas en Camino –Peasant Communities on the Road- cooperative

Specific objectives

Emerging processes of gender construction in the community assembly through the emergence of woman as political subject will be analyzed.

Re-emergence of the female body in space construction of Comunidades Campesinas en Caminowill be analyzed as a process of space construction.

Commonality processes as well as woman’s action will be identified in forming fair-solidary cooperatives

Introduction

Comunidades Campesinas en Camino is a native peasant cooperative that consolidated itself out of extreme poverty in which they lived. Several peasants of the Isthmus of Tehuantepec, Oaxaca, decided to organize self-managed to leave behind the traditional dynamics of domination, exploitation, conflict and enjoyment of their life and their territory. It has been organized to guide the spatial transformation of their territory based on an “indigenous harmony”, among what is cultural, identity, political and social, employing as transversal axis of these social relations the care and defense of their territory. As a productive peasant cooperative, it seeks to eliminate wage exploitation of a peasant laborer by a market of fair and solidary trade.

Today, globally we face a patriarchal/colonial/modern/world rationality imposed through a historiographic account of progress since the conquest of America. In this context, social structures and systems (work, race/sex-gender, subjectivity and the society-nature relationship) intertwined in power relations appear colonized by an instrumental-utilitarian rationality that disembodied the person and nature and stripped life naked. These structures and systems remain in force and continue strengthening, despite their 500 years of gestation. Their main source of strength lies in the perpetuation of processes such as accumulation by dispossession, slave work, conquest of subjectivity, marginal pole, patriarchy and other contradictions of capitalist logic.

Alternatives to these processes of domination may be found in the approacheswith decolonizing answers, i.e., carrying out revisionist processes of history, epistemology and Western ontology to rethink the history of Latin America and resurgence of pre-colonial practices. These include forms of political organization through assemblies, social organization and their relations with Nature and the environment, and festivities, as well as relationships of community work. The decolonizing proposal is not a call to return to the indigenous world but to learn from their experience as a non-capitalist society and to be able to build an egalitarian, fair and solidary life proposal implying the re-embodiment of life through de-commodification, elimination of Cartesian dualisms that encompass racism and gender inequality, building localized knowledge, paying off the original debt built after the conquest and the separation of the native world, rethinking and de-thinking Western knowledge, decolonizing knowledge and being, studying and thinking community processes in the context of domination of the modern/colonial/patriarchal/world system by which to distinguish the antagonistic forces of community struggle, as well as thinking and rethinking modernity

A pattern of power that has been consolidated and reinforced with the hegemonic proposal of modernity has been the gender duality, which supports a patriarchal system where woman does not have the same opportunities of appearing in the different social structures. Beginning with a de-colonial analysis and attempting to propose transformations in space and more egalitarian gender social structures, it attempts to place the analysis in the feminizing processes and woman’s emergence as a political subject in the native meeting.

The native meeting, or assembly, is a forum for community discussion that transforms democracy into a real space of appearance. The person appearing before the assembly transfigures their space politically and culturally. The appearance of both genders, “female and male”, in making use of the word has gradually led to a feminization of the assembly: the participation of women in decision-making establishes itself as an act of performance that allows a largely egalitarian generic space; larger than in the spaces of representative democracy in modern Mexican societies, where negative feminine and gender meanings are constructed; where the woman, in most cases, appears only to cover a gender quota established in the Constitution and not as a voluntary act.

However, the emergence of woman as a political subject in community decision-making is not sufficient, since if we consider that space is also constructed through gender, then economic, social and cultural processes must be transformed and feminized. Comunidades Campesinas en Camino is a cooperative built through everyday native knowledge of peasants –female and male- in the region. Since their genesis, women decided to co-manage the cooperative’s monetary income and expenditures and held the same right as men to participate in the foundation and organization of the cooperative.

A singularity of Comunidades Campesinas en Camino is their way of organizing work, based on barter, reciprocity and work delivered, that in the limit with the capitalist-patriarchal rationality is transforming and reconstructing egalitarian social bonds, where women and men have the same rights and obligations when working the land and home and managing the cooperative. These forms of native organization are contrary to work relations in modern-colonial capitalist spaces, where gender constructs are unfavorable for women, and where there is a command-obedience relationship.

Without aiming at raising the utopia, I propose the analysis of an existing emancipatory community walk, not exempt of contradictions and also unable to dis-subjectivize itself of the patriarchal world but that in its daily walk, as a peasant native community incorporates the care of nature and creation of egalitarian spaces between man and woman. These are axes not considered in the colonial/modern/patriarchal world. Native world patriarchal forms have been resisted in particular forms whose analysis is strategic.

In sum, Comunidades Campesinas en Camino shines a light in our decolonizing walk, which considers space transformation in its different structures. It seeks a walk full of native community values, solidary and reciprocal among individuals; through dedicated work, communitarian participation of the political assembly and its feminization, the festivity and care of Nature.

Marlene Gómez Becerra

Foto

Internationales Graduiertenkolleg "Zwischen Räumen"

Bewegungen, Akteure und Repräsentationen der Globalisierung

Master Student

Aufgabenbereich

Projekt: "Die Produktion von Raum und Geschlecht in kooperativen weiblichen Bauerngemeinschaften in Camino de Teuantepec, Oaxaca, Mexico (2000-2014). Eine de-kolonisierte Annäherung."

E-Mail marlenegomezbecerra@comunidad.unam.mx

Kurse und Seminare

2010

Teilnahme am 31-stündigen “Primer coloquio internacional del programa de investigación en Cambio Climático de la UNAM” (Erstes Internationales Kolloquium des UNAM Forschungsprogramms über Klimawandel, 8. bis 11. November, 2010).

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der politischen Theorie und Philosophie II an der UNAM (Institut für Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften [ FCPyS]

2011

“Biopolitics and Violence” Seminar von Dr. Guillermo Pereyra Tissera in FCPyS, 28. Oktober, 4., 11., 18. und 25. November, 2. und 9. Dezember 2011, 20 stündig

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der politischen Theorie und Philosophie II an der UNAM (Institut für Politik- und Sozialwissenschaften [ FCPyS]

2013

Mitglied des PAPIIT Projektes des UNAM Institutes für Wirtschaftswissenschaften: „Öffentliche Politik: Von Armuts-Assistenz zu Marginalität-Autonomie“

2014

Sprecher des „III. Kongresses der Netzwerke von Sozialwissenschaftlern über Wasser“ mit dem Projekt: „Gesellschaft und Komponenten des Lebens: die Notwendigkeit eines neuen epistemischen Subjektes des Wassers. Der Fall der AMCM Wasserführung“

Sprecher im Seminar „Analyse eines Desasters durch die Medien: Odile“ am UNAM Institute für Geographie

2015

Sprecher des 11. Doktoranden Kolloquium: „Transformationen des Raums. Integration von geographischen Wissen.“ mit dem Projekt „Zum Vorschlag der Landnutzungsplanung: der Fall einer Bauerngemeinschaft in Camino – ländliche Gemeinden auf dem Weg“

Sprecher des V. Kongresses der UNAM-Absolventen mit dem Projekt: „„Zum Vorschlag der Landnutzungsplanung: der Fall einer Bauerngemeinschaft in Camino – ländliche Gemeinden auf dem Weg“

Teilnahme und Anrechnung des Kurses: „GIS with free and open source software systems“ am UNAM Institut für Geographie

"Die Produktion von Raum und Geschlecht in kooperativen weiblichen Bauerngemeinschaften in Camino de Teuantepec, Oaxaca, Mexico (2000-2014). Eine de-kolonisierte Annäherung."


Betreuer: Prof. Dr. Marisa Belausteguigoitia Rius (UNAM)


Allgemeines Ziel

Analyse de-kolonialer Prozesse, erschaffen von Raum und Geschlecht im Prozess der Etablierung der weiblichen Bauerngemeinschaften in Camino – Bauerngemeinschaften auf der Straße-Kooperative



Spezielle Ziele

Aufkommende Prozesse von Geschlechterkonstruktionen, in der Gemeindeversammlung durch das Hervortreten von Frauen, werden als politische Subjekte analysiert.

Die neue Erscheinung des weiblichen Körpers in Raumkonstruktionen der Gemeinschaften weiblicher Bauern in Camino wird als Prozess der Raumkonstruktion analysiert.

Prozesse der Kommunalität sowie Handlungen von Frauen werden durch die Formung solidarischer Kooperationen identifiziert.



Einleitung

Die Frauengemeinschaft von Bauern in Campesino ist eine Kooperative von bäuerlichen Ureinwohnern, welche sich aufgrund eines Lebens in extremer Armut vereinigte. Viele Bauern am Isthmus von Tehuantepec, Oaxaca, entschieden sich dazu, sich in einer Organisation und selbst verwaltend von traditionellen Dynamiken der Herrschaft, Ausbeutung, des Konfliktes und des Lebensgenusses in ihrem Territorium zu trennen. Diesbezüglich wurde eine räumliche Transformation in ihrem Territorium organisiert. Auf dem Prinzip der „indigenen Harmonie“ beruhend - darunter befinden sich soziale, kulturelle und politische Aspekte – werden soziale Beziehungen als transversale Achse identifiziert, um Sorgfalt und Verteidigung ihres Territoriums zu verwirklichen. Als eine produktive Bauerngemeinschaft, ist es ihr Ziel die Lohnausbeutung der Bauern durch einen fairen und solidarischen Handel zu eliminieren.

Heutzutage stehen wir einer patriarchalischen/kolonialen/modernen/ Weltrationalität gegenüber, welche durch eine historiographische Erzählung des „Fortschritts“ seit der Eroberung Amerikas aufgezwungen wurde. In diesem Zusammenhang werden soziale Strukturen und Systeme (Arbeit, Rasse/Geschlecht, Subjektivität und das Verhältnis Gesellschaft-Natur) miteinander in Macht-Relationen verflochten. Dies erscheint als eine kolonisierte Instrumentalisierung eines rationalen Utilitarismus, welcher Personen und die Natur entkörperlicht sowie das Leben nackt auszieht. Trotz eines 500 Jahre dauernden Reifungsprozesses, verbleiben diese Strukturen und Systeme in der Macht und werden fortlaufend gestärkt. Ihre Hauptquelle der Stärke liegt in der Aufrechterhaltung von Prozessen und anderen Widersprüchen kapitalistischer Logik, wie beispielsweise Akkumulation durch Enteignung, Sklavenarbeit, Eroberung der Subjektivität, grenzwertige Gegensätze oder das Patriarchat.

Alternativen zu diesem Prozess der Herrschaft können durch Ansätze der De-Kolonisierung - beispielsweise durch die Ausführung revisionistischer Prozesse - gefunden werden. Dieser Prozess beinhaltet unter anderem die Geschichte, die Epistemologie und westliche Ontologie, die Geschichte Lateinamerikas sowie das Auftreten vorkolonialer Praktiken neu zu bewerten. Dies bezieht das Formen politischer Organisationen durch Versammlungen, soziale Organisationen und ihre Verbindung zur Natur und Umwelt, und Festlichkeit sowie Beziehungen zur Gemeinschaftsarbeit mit ein.

Der De-Kolonialisierungsvorschlag ist kein Aufruf zur indigenen Welt zurückzukehren. Es geht darum, von deren Erfahrung als nicht-kapitalistische Gesellschaft zu lernen sowie fähig zu sein, eine egalitaristische, faire und solidarische Lebensweise vorzuschlagen, welche eine Neugestaltung des Lebens durch De-Kommodifikation und Eliminierung des von Descartes beschriebenen Dualismus (umfasst Rassismus und Geschlechterungleichheit) impliziert. Des Weiteren schließt dies die Konstruktion von lokalem Wissen, eine Amortisation (nicht nur der nach der Eroberung entstandenen ursprünglichen Schulden, sondern auch der Separation der indigenen Welt), ein Umdenken des westlichen Wissens, des De-Kolonialisierungswissens- und Wesens, das Studium und die Betrachtung von Gemeinschaftsprozessen im Kontext der Herrschaft eines modernen/kolonialen/patriarchalischen Welt-Systems mit ein; bei gleichzeitiger Unterscheidung von antagonistischen Kräften der Gemeinschaftsanstrengung sowie unter Berücksichtigung des Denkens und Umdenkens der Moderne.

Ein konsolidiertes Muster der Macht, verstärkt durch den Herrschaftsvorschlag der Modernität, ist die Geschlechterungleichheit. Diese wird durch ein patriarchalisches System unterstützt, in welchem Frauen nicht die gleichen Möglichkeiten des Auftretens in verschiedenen sozialen Strukturen haben. Beginnend mit einer Analyse der De-Kolonialisierung und versuchend eine Transformation im Raum und mehr egalitäre soziale Geschlechterrollen vorzuschlagen, zielt es darauf ab, die Analyse in den Feminisierungsprozess und in das Auftreten von Frauen als politische Subjekte in einheimische Treffen unterzubringen.

Das einheimische Treffen, oder die Versammlung, ist ein Forum der Gemeinschaftsdiskussion, welches Demokratie in einen realen Raum des Auftritts transformiert. Die vor der Versammlung auftretende Person gestaltet ihren politischen und kulturellen Raum. Das Auftreten beider Geschlechter, „weiblich und männlich“, um das Wort zu Hilfe zu nehmen, hat sukzessive zu einer Feminisierung der Versammlung geführt: die Partizipation von Frauen in der Entscheidungsfindung etablierte sich selbst als ein Akt der Darbietung, welcher größtenteils einen generierenden Raum der Egalität zuließ; größer als die Räume der repräsentativen Demokratie in modernen mexikanischen Gesellschaften, in welchen negative feministische und Geschlechter-Sinngehalte konstruiert werden; und in welcher Frauen in den meisten Fällen nur als Abdeckung einer Geschlechterquote gemäß der Verfassung, nicht aber als freiwilliger Akt in Erscheinung treten.
Allerdings ist das Auftreten von Frauen als politische Subjekte in der Beschlussfassung der Gemeinschaft nicht ausreichend, falls wir berücksichtigen, dass Raum auch durch Geschlecht konstruiert ist. Dem folgend müssen ökonomische, soziale und kulturelle Prozesse transformiert und feminisiert werden. Die Bauerngemeinschaft in Camino ist eine Genossenschaft, die auf alltägliches indigenes Wissen der Bauern – weiblich und männlich – in der Region baut. Seit ihrem Ursprung entschieden Frauen genossenschaftliche Geldeinkommen und Ausgaben mitzuverwalten und hatten das gleiche Recht der Männer, an den Fundamenten und der Organisation der Genossenschaft teilzunehmen.


Eine Besonderheit der Bauerngemeinschaft in Camino ist ihre Weise Arbeit zu organisieren, welche auf Tauschgeschäften, Gegenseitigkeit und gelieferter Arbeit beruht. Diese Arbeitsweise transformiert und rekonstruiert egalitaristische soziale Bände im Rahmen der Einschränkung einer kapitalistisch-patriarchalischen Rationalität. Frauen und Männer haben die gleichen Rechte und Pflichten, wenn sie Land- und Hausarbeit verrichten oder die Gemeinschaft leiten. Diese Formen der indigenen Organisation sind widersprüchlich zu den Arbeitsbeziehungen des modern-kolonialen kapitalistischen Raumes, in welchen Geschlechterkonstruktionen nachteilig für Frauen sind und eine Befehl-Gehorsam Beziehung besteht.

Ohne auf die Erhebung einer Utopie abzuzielen, schlage ich die Analyse einer bestehenden emanzipierten Gemeinschaft vor; nicht befreit von Widersprüchen und ebenfalls unfähig sich selbst von der patriarchalischen Welt zu de-subjektivieren. Jedoch in täglichen Abläufen von Bauern einer indigenen Gemeinschaft - welche eine Sorgfalt zur Natur und die Kreation egalitaristisches Raumes zwischen Frauen und Männern inkorporiert – werden nicht berücksichtigte Achsen der kolonialen/modernen/patriarchalischen Welt ersichtlich. Indigene Formen des Weltpatriarchats hielten in besonderen Formen aufgrund strategischer Analysen stand.

Insgesamt bringt die Bauerngemeinschaft in Camino Licht auf unseren Weg der De-Kolonisierung, welcher Transformationen des Raumes und dessen unterschiedliche Strukturen berücksichtigt. Er soll ein reichhaltiger Weg sein, mit indigenen Gemeinschaftswerten, Solidarität und Gegenseitigkeit unter Individuen; durch engagierte Arbeit, gemeinschaftlicher Teilnahme an politischen Versammlungen und deren Feminisierung, durch Feste und Sorgfalt gegenüber der Natur.