Ana Eugenia Smith Aguilar

Ana Eugenia Smith

International Research Training Group "Between Spaces"

Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalisation

Master Student

Field of Activity

Project: "Changes in the symbolic representations of landscapes in San Juan Quiahije, Oaxaca"

Email anasmith@comunidad.unam.mx

Currently

Master student in Geography, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

2013

Undergraduate degree in History, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Thesis: Geographical contents in mexican periodic publications between1848-1862

2007-2009

Research activities in the project: Geography and Natural History; Towards a comparative History. Case studies from Argentina, Mexico, Costa Rica and Paraguay.

"Changes in the symbolic representations of landscapes in San Juan Quiahije, Oaxaca"


Supervisors: Dr. Federico Fernández Christlieb (UNAM), Dr. Emiliana Cruz (UMASS)


Main Objective

  • Analyse the landscapes currently present in the jurisdiction of San Juan Quiahije, Oaxaca, through the memories brought by the act of walking the landscape.

Specific objectives

  • Characterise the landscape produced by the spatial practises of the chatino community and the logic of spatial representation that sacred ethno-territoriality is based on.

  • Characterise the landscape produced by the logic of spatial representation of Capitalism sustained through the State Apparatus which works within the community’s administrative and political structures.

  • Analyse the interaction dynamics of these two landscapes produced by different spatial logics, which are currently struggling.

  • Assess the impact of this struggle between spatial logics in the cultural and social changes happening in San Juan Quiahije.

I intend to study the spatial dimension of cultural change in the jurisdiction of San Juan Quiahije, Oaxaca, through the analysis of landscapes and the logic of spatial representation that they enclose. Until de 1970’s San Juan Quiahije was apparently a geographically isolated indigenous community. After the introduction of some basic means of communication a fast process of spatial transformations developed, accelerating cultural change.

The change, destruction and creation of places have accelerated in the last 40 years. They come together with schemes of development planned by the government and private sector, but put into practice and a lot of times financed by the community. The constant destruction and construction of places changes the way the community relates to its territory and the identity processes that develop through dwelling. As several geographers have noted, accelerated corogenetic processes are a characteristic of capitalism and globalization. David Harvey states that, modernization entails, the perpetual disruption of temporal and spatial rhythms; the production of new meanings for space and time in a world of ephemerality and fragmentation.(Harvey, 1989, p. 216) I think it’s necessary to study this spatial dimension of cultural change in order for a better understanding of the production of space in our global world.

This project is based on and inspired by the project Chatino Place Names and Local Knowledge: Language Description and Multimedia Documentary Corpus (National Science Foundation) directed by PhD. Emiliana Cruz.

(2014), “Narrar la naturaleza. Relación entre geografía, historia natural y literatura en el romanticismo mexicano.” in Historicas. Boletín del Instituto de Investigaciónes Históricas, UNAM, Vol.100, Pag.41-65.

(2009), with Vega y Ortega Báez, Rodrigo Antonio “Nuevos lectores de Historia Natural. Las revistas literarias de México en la década de 1840.” in Lértora Mendoza, Celina A. (coord.), Geonaturalia. Geografía e Historia Natural: hacia una historia comparada. Estudio a través de Argentina, México, Costa Rica y Paraguay. Buenos Aires, Ediciones F.E.I.P.A.I.

(2007) with Azuela, Luz Fernanda y Sabás, Ana Lilia “La Geografía y la Historia Natural en las revistas literarias de la primera mitad del siglo XIX”, in Lértora Mendoza, Celina A. (Coord.) Geonaturalia. Geografía e Historia Natural: hacia una historia comparada. Estudio a través de Argentida, México, Costa Rica y Paraguay. Buenos Aires, Ediciones F.E.P.A.I. 2007 pp. 55-88.

(2007) “Entre el territorio perdido y los recursos naturales desamortizados: La Geografía y la Historia Natural en las publicaciones de 1848 a 1862.” in Lértora Mendoza, Celina A. (coord.), Geonaturalia. Geografía e Historia Natural: hacia una historia comparada. Estudio a través de Argentina, México, Costa Rica y Paraguay. Buenos Aires, Ediciones F.E.I.P.A.I., 2007 pp. 137-150

Ana Eugenia Smith Aguilar

Ana Eugenia Smith

Internationales Graduiertenkolleg "Zwischen Räumen"

Bewegungen, Akteure und Repräsentationen der Globalisierung

Master Student

Aufgabenbereich

Projekt: "Änderungen der symbolischen Repräsentation der Landschaft in San Juan Quiahije, Oaxaca"

E-Mail anasmith@comunidad.unam.mx

Zur Zeit

Master student in Geography, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

2013

Undergraduate degree in History, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Thesis: Geographical contents in mexican periodic publications between1848-1862

2007-2009

Research activities in the project: Geography and Natural History; Towards a comparative History. Case studies from Argentina, Mexico, Costa Rica and Paraguay.

"Änderungen der symbolischen Repräsentation der Landschaft in San Juan Quiahije, Oaxaca"


Betreuer: Prof. Dr. Federico Fernández Christlieb (UNAM), Prof. Dr. Emiliana Cruz (UMASS)


Ziel:

  • Analyse der gegenwärtigen Landschaften in der Gemeinde Juan Quiahije, Oaxaca, durch Erzählungen in Memoiren, welche beim Wandern in der Landschaft entstanden

bestimmte Ziele:

  • Charakterisierung der produzierten Landschaft durch räumliche Praktiken der indigenen Chatina Gemeinschaft und der Logik der räumlichen Repräsentation der heiligen Ethno-Territorialität

  • Charakterisierung der produzierten Landschaft durch die Logik einer kapitalistisch räumlichen Repräsentation, gestützt durch den Apparat des mexikanischen Staates, der politisch-administrative Gemeindestrukturen einfügt

  • Analyse von Dynamiken der Interaktionen, die beide im Widerspruch stehende Landschaften haben und die durch Logik verschiedener räumlicher Repräsentation produziert sind

  • Evaluation des Einflusses auf kulturelle Veränderungen durch diese Widersprüche in San Juan Quiahije.

Mit diesem Projekt schlage ich vor, die räumliche Dimension des kulturellen Wandels zu untersuchen, die durch eine Analyse der Landschaften und der Logik der räumlichen Repräsentation in der Gemeinde San Juan Quiahije in Oaxaca präsentiert und umschlossen wird. Bis zu den 1970er Jahren war San Juan Quiahije eine Gemeinschaft mit einer bestimmten geographischen Isolation. Mit der Einführung einiger moderner Kommunikationsmittel begann ein räumlicher Transformationsprozess der kulturelle Dynamiken veränderte.

Veränderung, Zerstörung und Erschaffung von Raum beschleunigten sich in den letzten 40 Jahren. Sie kommen zusammen mit Schemen der Entwicklung, die durch die Regierung oder den privaten Sektor geplant sind, aber oftmals durch die Gemeinde umgesetzt und finanziert wurden. Die andauernde Zerstörung und Konstruktion von Orten verändert die Beziehung der Gemeinde zu ihrem Territorium sowie den Identitätsprozess, der sich durch das Domizil entwickelt. Wie einige Geographen anmerkten, sind diese beschleunigten Prozesse eine Eigenschaft des Kapitalismus und der Globalisierung. David Harvey gibt an, dass die Modernisierung eine ständige Störung des zeitlichen und räumlichen Rhythmus mit sich bringt; die Produktion neuer Sinngehalte für den Raum in einer Welt der Kurzlebigkeit und Fragmentierung (Harvey, 1989, p. 216). Ich denke es ist nötig diese räumliche Dimension der Kulturveränderung zu untersuchen, um die Produktion von Raum in unserer globalen Welt besser verstehen zu können.

Dieses Forschung basiert auf und ist inspiriert durch das Projekt Chatino Place Names and Local Knowledge: Language Description and Multimedia Documentary Corpus (National Science Foundation), geleitet von Prof. Dr. Emiliana Cruz.

(2014), “Narrar la naturaleza. Relación entre geografía, historia natural y literatura en el romanticismo mexicano.” in Historicas. Boletín del Instituto de Investigaciónes Históricas, UNAM, Vol.100, Pag.41-65.

(2009), with Vega y Ortega Báez, Rodrigo Antonio “Nuevos lectores de Historia Natural. Las revistas literarias de México en la década de 1840.” in Lértora Mendoza, Celina A. (coord.), Geonaturalia. Geografía e Historia Natural: hacia una historia comparada. Estudio a través de Argentina, México, Costa Rica y Paraguay. Buenos Aires, Ediciones F.E.I.P.A.I.

(2007) with Azuela, Luz Fernanda y Sabás, Ana Lilia “La Geografía y la Historia Natural en las revistas literarias de la primera mitad del siglo XIX”, in Lértora Mendoza, Celina A. (Coord.) Geonaturalia. Geografía e Historia Natural: hacia una historia comparada. Estudio a través de Argentida, México, Costa Rica y Paraguay. Buenos Aires, Ediciones F.E.P.A.I. 2007 pp. 55-88.

(2007) “Entre el territorio perdido y los recursos naturales desamortizados: La Geografía y la Historia Natural en las publicaciones de 1848 a 1862.” in Lértora Mendoza, Celina A. (coord.), Geonaturalia. Geografía e Historia Natural: hacia una historia comparada. Estudio a través de Argentina, México, Costa Rica y Paraguay. Buenos Aires, Ediciones F.E.I.P.A.I., 2007 pp. 137-150