Börries Nehe

Börries E. Nehe
Image Credit: © Börries Nehe

International Research Training Group "Between Spaces"

Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalisation

PhD Candidate

Field of Activity

Project: “Land of Nobody, land of Everybody. Class Struggle and State Construction in Times of Plurinationalism in Pando, Bolivia”

Email boerries@gmail.com

“Land of Nobody, land of Everybody. Class Struggle and State Construction in Times of Plurinationalism in Pando, Bolivia”

 


Supervisors: Prof. Dr. Fabiola Nicté Escárzaga (UNAM), Prof. Dr. Guadalupe Valencia García (UNAM), Prof. Dr. Margarita Favela Gavía (UNAM), Prof. Dr. Liliana Weinberg (UNAM) and Prof. Dr. Sérgio Costa (FU Berlin)


The Pando department in the northern Amazon of Bolivia today constitutes a sort of vanishing point of significant regional, national and global struggles for space. Historically isolated from the Bolivian government, the government of Evo Morales has identified Pando as a priority “to make the state" and implement a program characterized as "nationalist-developmentalist" and of which take part the exploitation of biodiversity and oil resources, the structuring of roadside under the IIRSA and national initiatives, the strengthening the bureaucratic-administrative apparatus and of the borders with Brazil and Peru and programs of "colonization" of the forest, among others. Most of these projects conflicts with the implications of the "plurinational" horizon that would characterize the new Bolivian statehood, as well as the aspirations of the peasant and indigenous populations in the region. At the same time, the department has been and is the scene of sharp confrontations between indigenous peasants and large landowners which become inscribed in national and global dynamics of change in rural areas. In this regard, the claim and construction of "departmental autonomy" is a central strategy of the dominant groups. We believe that the construction of the nation-state in Pando could involve the possibility of breaking the power relations and patrimonial mechanisms of exploitation / subordination, and of strengthening the position of the peasant and indigenous population, but it is equally possible that dominant groups may negotiate the preservation of their traditional areas of power within the emerging state structure and maintain its regional hegemony.

 

The fundamental questions that will guide this research are thus:

What have been the strategies of production and appropriation of space adapted by peasant and indigenous movements on the one hand, and the dominant groups on the other? How are they adapted to the new situation? How is the new state spatiality articulated with previously existing spaces (geographical, political, symbolic)? To what extent do global, national and regional dynamics of capitalism interfere in the (re-) construction of the local, and how do local actors deal with these?

 

.

Börries Nehe

Börries E. Nehe
Bildquelle: © Börries Nehe

Internationales Graduiertenkolleg "Zwischen Räumen"

Bewegungen, Akteure und Repräsentationen der Globalisierung

Doktorand

Aufgabenbereich

Projekt: "Land ohne Besitzer, Land von allen. Klassenkampf und Staatsbildung in Zeiten des Plurinationalismus in Pando, Bolivien"

E-Mail boerries@gmail.com

"Land ohne Besitzer, Land von allen. Klassenkampf und Staatsbildung in Zeiten des Plurinationalismus in Pando, Bolivien"

 


BetreuerInnen: Prof. Dr. Fabiola Nicté Escárzaga (UNAM), Prof. Dr. Guadalupe Valencia García (UNAM), Prof. Dr. Margarita Favela Gavía (UNAM), Prof. Dr. Liliana Weinberg (UNAM), Prof. Dr. Sérgio Costa (FU Berlin)


 

Das Amazonas Department Pando im Norden Boliviens bildet heutzutage den Dreh- und Angelpunkt wichtiger regionaler, nationaler und globaler Raumkonflikte. Lange Zeit isoliert vom bolivianischen Staat hat die Regierung von Evo Morales Pando zu einem bevorzugten Raum erklärt, um den “Staat zu machen” und ein Programm umzusetzen, das wir als “nationales Entwicklungsprogramm” bezeichnen. Dazu gehören u.a. die Ausbeutung der Biodiversität und der Erdölvorkommen, der Straßenbau im Rahmen der IIRSA und nationaler Initiativen, die Stärkung des bürokratischen Verwaltungsapparates und der Grenzen zu Brasilien und Peru sowie Programme zur Besiedlung des Urwaldes. Die Mehrheit dieser Projekte stehen im Konflikt sowohl zum “plurinationalen” Charakter der neuen bolivianischen Staatlichkeit als auch zu den Interessen der bäuerlichen und indigenen Bevölkerung der Region. Gleichzeitig war und ist Pando Bühne scharfer Auseinandersetzungen zwischen indigenen Bauern und Großgrundbesitzern, die nationale und globale Dynamiken einer Veränderung des ländlichen Raumes unterstützen. In diesem Verhältnis stellen die Forderung und Konstruktion der Autonomie Pandos eine grundlegende Strategie der herrschenden Gruppen dar. Wir gehen davon aus, dass die Konstruktion einer Staatsnation in Pando einen Bruch mit den bestehenden patrimonialen Machtverhältnissen und Mechanismen von Ausbeutung und Unterordnung und die Stärkung der bäuerlichen und indigenen Bevölkerung bedeuten kann, dass es aber auch möglich ist, dass die herrschenden Gruppen die Bewahrung ihrer traditionellen Machträume innerhalb der aufkommenden staatlichen Struktur verhandeln und ihre regionale Hegemonie behalten.

Folgende grundlegende Fragen leiten die Untersuchung:

Welche Strategien zur Produktion und Aneignung des Raumes haben die bäuerlichen und indigenen Bewegungen auf der einen Seite und die herrschenden Gruppen auf der anderen Seite benutzt? Wie passen sie sich dem neuen Szenario an? Wie drückt sich die neue staatliche Räumlichkeit in den schon existierenden geographischen, politischen und symbolischen Räumen aus? Auf welche Weise greifen die globalen, nationalen und regionalen Dynamiken des Kapitalismus in die (Re)Konstruktion des Lokalen ein und wie reagieren die lokalen Akteuere darauf?