Amor Teresa Gutiérrez Sánchez

Amor Teresa Gutiérrez Sánchez
Image Credit: Amor Teresa Gutiérrez Sánchez

International Research Training Group "Between Spaces"

Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalisation

PhD Candidate

Field of Activity

Project: "The educational role of hegemonic motherhood: from the "official line" to dissident practices in Mexico"

Email amortegusa@hotmail.com

Academic career

 Since 01/2014 Scholarship holder of the International Research Training Group “Between Spaces. Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalisation”
Since 06/2013 PhD in Education, Faculty of Philosophy and Letters, National Autonomous University of Mexico
2008 - 2010 Masters in Gender and Equality Policies, Institut Universitari d'Estudis de la Dona, University of Valencia. Spain.
2013 Research fellowship in the University Program of Gender Studies. UNAM
2003 - 2006 Degree in Educational Psychology, Autonomous University of Queretaro. Mexico

Professional experience

2011 - 2012 Prevention Program Coordinator and Family Care, sexual and gender violence. Jalpan General Hospital. Ministry of Health of the State of Querétaro. Mexico

Art curator

09/2012 Curator of the Group Exhibition “Sex, Sexuaity and Gender, feminist views from the documentary poerty”. PUEG-UNAM/Museum of women. Mexico.

The educational role of hegemonic motherhood: from the "official line" to dissident practices in Mexico

  


Tutor: Riánsares Lozano von Pola


 

Motherhood has been analyzed through different branches of feminism and gender studies. Research and insights that emerge from this field of knowledge production, can chart new paths by which to study issue.

This research aims to contribute to the critical analysis of the pedagogy of hegemonic motherhood through the visibility and recognition of dissident maternal practices that teach in a libratory way within Mexican society, as well as criticism of the educational methods which use hegemonic discourses to reinforcet it.

Taking into account the considerations of bell hooks (1994: 44) about a pedagogy of hope and bringing multiculturalismo into classroom, in which she alludes to social laboratory in which pedagogy plays an important role, we agree on the idea that:

Multiculturalism compels educators to recognize the narrow boundaries that have shaped the way knowledge is shared in classroom. It forces us all to recognize our complicit in accepting and perpetuating biases of any kind. Students are eager to break through barriers to knowing.

Doing this exercise of social and personal assessment will helps us to recognize responsibilities and become aware of the responsibility we have in beingimmersed in a community that only conceives of its internal processes with the help of pedagogical mediation.

We start by recognizing the idea that both maternity and family configurations in the XXI century in Mexico are diverse and plural and contradict the traditional constitution of family.

The objects of study of this project are the various practices and maternal experiences, particulary those of lesbian mothers, “single” mothers, racialized mothers, non biowomen mothers, feminist mothers, collective mothers. We want to focus on their knowledge and learn about the educational processes which appeal to intersectional mothers, as well as to name and make dissident and subversive mothers visible, whose experiences question the only “acceptable” form of motherhood and who reapropriate motherhood through their agency, contradicting the androcentric bias that seeks to reinforce a single mother figure.

Also the hegemonic discourses of the Church and the Nation-State are a part of our reflection, because they use their interests to describe and prescribe how a mother should be based what is expected to be in favor of their interests and to the detriment of women´s rights to make decisions about their own bodies in terms of reproduction and people´s right to form their own kinship models.

 

 

Journal articles

Master Thesis

  • 2010 Investigación de Máster en Género y Políticas de Igualdad titulado Maternidades en Occidente. Reflexión de su devenir desde la teoría feminista. Institut Universitari d'Estudis de la Dona, Universidad de Valencia. España.

Amor Teresa Gutiérrez Sánchez

Amor Teresa Gutiérrez Sánchez
Bildquelle: Amor Teresa Gutiérrez Sánchez

Internationales Graduiertenkolleg "Zwischen Räumen"

Bewegungen, Akteure und Repräsentationen der Globalisierung

Doktorandin

Aufgabenbereich

Projekt: "Die pädagogische Funktion der hegemonialen Mutterschaft: von “offiziellen Diskursen” zu widerständigen Praxen in Mexiko"

E-Mail amortegusa@hotmail.com

Ausbildung

 Seit 01/2014 Stipendiat des Internationalen Graduiertenkollegs “Zwischen Räumen”
Seit 06/2013 Doktorandin in Pädagogik. Fakultät der Philosophie und Literatur. Nationale Autonome Universität von Mexiko.
2008 - 2010 Master in Geschlechterforschung und Gleichstellungspolitiken, Institut der Frauenforschung, Universität von Valencia. Spanien.
2013 Forschungsaufenthalt im universitären Programm der Geschlechterforschung. UNAM.
2003 - 2006 Lizenziat in pädagogischer Psychologie, Autonome Universität von Querétaro. Mexiko.

Erfahrungen im Arbeitsbereich

2011 - 2012 Koordinadorin des Programms der Vor- und Fürsorge der familiären, sexuellen und geschlechtlichen Gewalt. Hospital General de Jalpan. Secretaría de Salud del Estado de Querétaro. México

Kuratieren

09/2012 Kuratorin der kollektiven Ausstellung “Sexo, sexualidad y Género, miradas feministas desde la poesía documental”. PUEG-UNAM/Museo de la Mujer. México, D.F.

Die pädagogische Funktion der hegemonialen Mutterschaft: von “offiziellen Diskursen” zu widerständigen Praxen in Mexiko

  


Betreuerin: Riansares Lozano von Pola


 

Die Mutterschaft wird im Lichte der verschiedenen Strömungen des Feminismus und der Geschlechterforschung analysiert. Die Forschung und die Erkenntnisse, die aus diesem Feld der Wissensproduktion entstehen, können neue Wege, auf denen das Thema studiert werden kann, entwerfen.

Diese Forschung soll zur kritischen Analyse der Pädagogik der hegemonialen Mutterschaft beitragen: Sowohl durch das Sichtbarmachen und die Anerkennung der mütterlichen, widerständigen Praxen, die in der mexikanischen Gesellschaft in Freiheit erziehen, als auch durch die Kritik an den Erziehungsmethoden, die Machtdiskurse einsetzen, um sie zu verdinglichen.

Angesichts der Erläuterungen von bell hooks (1994: 44) über eine Pädagogik der Hoffnung, die sich auf den Multikulturalismus in der Klasse verlegt, auf den sich hooks beruft, auf ein soziales Labor, in dem die Pädagogik eine wichtige Rolle spielt, sind wir uns über die Idee einig, dass

der Multikulturalismus Pädagog_innen zwingt, die engen Grenzen, die die Art und Weise wie Wissen in der Klasse geteilt wird, geformt haben, zu erkennen. Er zwingt uns alle, unsere Komplizenschaft im Akzeptieren und Perpetuieren von Vorurteilen jeglicher Art zu erkennen. Die Student_innen sind begierig Barrieren des Wissens zu durchbrechen.

Das Ausführen dieser Übung der sozialen und persönlichen Evaluierung wird es uns ermöglichen Verantwortungen zu bestimmen und uns der Verantwortung, die wir haben, da wir ein Teil einer Gemeinschaft sind, die ihre internen Prozesse nur durch die pädagogische Vermittlung erfassen kann, bewusst zu sein und teilzunehmen.

Wir gehen von der Idee aus, dass sowohl die Mutterschaften als auch die Familienkonstellationen des 21. Jahrhunderts in Mexiko, vielfältig und plural sind, und der traditionellen Konstitution der traditionellen Familie widersprechen.

Das Forschungsobjekt dieser Arbeit sind die verschiedenen Praktiken und Erfahrungen von Müttern – insbesondere von lesbischen Müttern, "Single"müttern, rassialisierten Müttern, Nicht-Biofrauen, feministischen Müttern, kollektiven Müttern. Es interessiert uns sowohl ihr Wissen zu bewahren und jene Bildungsprozesse kennenzulernen, an die intersektionale Mütter appellieren, als auch die widerständigen und subversiven Mütter zu benennen und sichtbar zu machen. Aufgrund ihrer Erfahrungen stellen diese Mütter den Begriff der Mutter-in-Singular in Frage. Sie eignen sich die Mutterschaft wieder an und gehen dabei von einer Handlungsmacht aus, die der androzentrischen Einseitigkeit, die darauf abzielt, die Figur der Mutter-in-Singular zu verdinglichen, widerspricht.           

Diese Mütter sind Teil unsere Reflexionen sowie die hegemonialen Diskurse der Kirche und des Nationalstaats, die beschreiben wie eine Mutter ist und vorschreiben, wie sie zu sein hat, zugunsten der Interessen von Kirche und Nationalstaat und zum Nachteil der Rechte von Frauen über ihre eigenen Körper, in Bezug auf Reproduktion, und der Menschen über ihre Zugehörigkeitsprozesse zu bestimmen.

 

Zeitschriftenartikel

Masterarbeit

  • 2010 Investigación de Máster en Género y Políticas de Igualdad titulado Maternidades en Occidente. Reflexión de su devenir desde la teoría feminista. Institut Universitari d'Estudis de la Dona, Universidad de Valencia. España.