Tania Villanueva López

Tania Villanueva López
Image Credit: © Tania Villanueva López

International Research Training Group "Between Spaces"

Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalisation

PhD Candidate

Field of Activity

Project: "Concave-feminist constructs and grammars of audiovisual montage in Latin America (1986-2012)"

Email tania.villanueva@comunidad.unam.mx

Since 6/2012

PhD in History of Arts (Film and Gender studies), Faculty of Philosophy and Letters, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico

2009 - 2010

Masters in Aesthetics and Theory of Art, Faculty of Philosophy and Literature, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain. (According to renewal of the Secretariat of Public Education, Master of Arts, in the line of Aesthetic Theories, Universidad de Guanajuato, Mexico).

2003 - 2008

Degree of Arts, Faculty of Arts, Universidad Autónoma del Estado de Morelos, Mexico.

2006 - 2007

Research fellowship in Instituto Universitario de Estudios Superiores de Artes Plásticas Armando Reverón, Caracas, Venezuela.

1998 - 2000

Film direction studies in the Государственный Университет Культуры и Искусств Московский. (State University of Moscow Art and Culture), Moscow, Russia. Fellow of the Ministry of culture of the Russian Government.

Work experience

2015

Teacher's course in the Bachelor of Art and Cultural Heritage, Universidad Autónoma de la Ciudad de México (UACM)

2007

Project Assistant: “Cultivate the aesthetic value of the cinema in children and young people with low resources. Education in human values through art cinema.” Scholarship CONACULTA program support for municipal and community cultures, PACMYC, Videoteca Macondo Art Cinema, Puebla, Mexico

2003 - 2007

Teacher of Film Appreciation and History of Cinema. Universidad de Jurisprudencia y Humanidades, S.C. BUAP program, Puebla, Mexico

Multimedia

2012 Researcher, cinematographer and still photo. Curatorial - catalogue of the art project “Tea for 2 Mexico” project. Interactive performance by the artist Weihong, Mafalda Budib curator. Puebla, Mexico.
2012 The reflection of Trinidad (play, co-author). Representation of the play through the Embassy of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela in Berlin at the event “With woman's face” in the framework of the international day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women, in Jugendwiderstandsmuseum Galiläakirche, 9-10, 10247 Rigaer Straße, Berlin, Germany.
2007 Assistant in the workshop of documentary projects. First Festival de la Memoria, Latin American documentary in Tepoztlan, recognition through the Faculty of Arts of the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de Morelos, Tepoztlan, Mexico.

“Concave-feminist constructs and grammars of audiovisual montage in Latin America (1986-2012)”

 


Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Riánsares Lozano de la Pola (UNAM)


This project addresses issues of representation, subjectivities and restitution of bodies in the media. The aim of this inquiry is to distinguish an assembly, an exercise in feminist assembly, for a possible film "contraescritura" by studying peripheral experimental film productions and video art made between 1986 and 2012 in Latin America.

 

This exploration is woven and articulated from a heterogeneous corpus of film achievements made by women filmmakers, collectives and subaltern subject who revolt with the lens and their bodies, compared with other Latin American contexts of domination, violence, discrimination, oppression, injustice and historic invisibility.

 

By tracking statements and expressions of urgency, the intention is to recognize, in audiovisual expressions of that period, a type of constituted and reactivated montage from the search for not only symbolic restitution of subjectivities, but also dialectical and constitutive of the bodies in a permanent dialogue between a strong personal place and a declarative community.

 

To recognize and examine the motives, traits and modes of feminist discourse assembly of this analysis, the concept of "concave assemblies” is introduced and developed. This proposal comes in mounting concavity of the questions, statements and reports of the new Latin American cinema (60-70 years), feminism (actions, practices and film theories) and video art. In turn, in this triangulation are crossed and included other artistic expressions, cognitive and empowerment tools, such as performance (seen from the video art) and weaving (identified as folk artistic practices).

 

In addition to this, to study the discursive and establishing an alternate assembly of audiovisual constructs, it is part of the ideas of theoretical and applied semiotic theorists movie (Mitry, Metz, Kristeva, De Lauretis, Barthes), who identify cinema as an art of movement, expressive and communicative tool and also as a potential language that has a highly significant process.

In the direction of the foregoing, it delves into the observation of the joint audiovisual constructs continuity to the question posed by this significant process in film, undertaken by theoretical and research feminists (Mulvey, De Lauretis, Kuhn, Millan, Pech , Juhasz, Kaplan, Johnston, Cusicanqui). The aforementioned film as distinguished thinkers core of gender technologies, and to identify, in their representation mechanisms, functions very attached to the beginning of this cinematic art, such as produce, reproduce and preserve joints and representations of inequalities symbolic. This is done by way of ideological control sites and reproduction of violence, in relation to the prime locations of looking and articulate, the view favored registration and distribution channels.

 

To explain the central term of this project, the notion of concavity which has been explored by feminist Luce Irigaray in the image concave mirror is resumed. Through this idea, the author founded a parallel with the subversive need for women, which projects, strategically, in an interior that is not controlled by male subjects that range from the outside.

 

To convey, with a twist turning, into a space that raises other forms of recognition, a territory that proposed the idea of a genuine own mirror of femininity which turns on itself and reveals an unconscious that is rediscovered, in turn, terminates the comfort, security and external intervention subjects. It is, then, an encounter with an interior that new forms of recognition models based on self-reflection.

 

Therefore, although the starting point of this research, to some extent draws on the powerful inquiries Irigaray, in this review of the assembly's term concavity it takes to boot the territory of its own or intimate reflections, to meet an opening, refraction and multiple exchange according to the Community dimension of the subjects. It can be seen in the arrangement of hollowness of the term, the involvement of immersion and inclusion, ie participatory look, a look that invites us to look from a position internalized located and shared is discovered.

 

.

Tania Villanueva López

Tania Villanueva López
Bildquelle: © Tania Villanueva López

Internationales Graduiertenkolleg "Zwischen Räumen"

Bewegungen, Akteure und Repräsentationen der Globalisierung

Doktorandin

Aufgabenbereich

Projekt: "Konkave feministische Konstruktionen und Grammatik der audiovisuellen Montage in Lateinamerika (1986-2012)"

E-Mail tania.villanueva@comunidad.unam.mx

Seit Juni 2012

Doktorandin in Kunstgeschichte (Film und Gender Studies), Fakultät für Philosophie und Literatur, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexiko-Stadt, Mexiko

2009 - 2010

Masterstudium in Ästhetik und zeitgenössische Kunsttheorie, Fakultät für Philosophie und Literatur, Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spanien

2003 - 2008

Bachelorstudium in Kunst, Fakultät für Kunst, Universidad Autónoma del Estado de Morelos, Mexiko

2006 - 2007

Forschungs- und Berufsaufenthalt am Instituto Universitario de Estudios Superiores de Artes Plásticas Armando Reverón, Caracas, Venezuela

1998 - 2000

Studium Filmproduktion an der Московский Государственный Университет Культуры и Искусств (Staatliche Universität für Kunst und Kultur Moskau), Moskau, Russland, mit einem Stipendium des russischen Kulturministeriums

Berufserfahrung

2015

Dozentin im Bachelorstudiengang Kunst und kulturelles Erbe, Universidad Autónoma de la Ciudad de México (UACM), Mexiko-Stadt, Mexiko

2007

Projektassistentin „Kultivierung ästhetischer Werte im Kino für Kinder und Jugendliche aus niedrigen Einkommensschichten. Erziehung von menschlichen Werten durch Kunstfilme“, Stipendium der CONACULTA, Programm für die Hilfe kommunaler und gemeinschaftlicher Kulturen, PACMYC, Videoteca Macondo Cine de Arte, Puebla, Mexiko

2003 - 2007

Dozentin für kinematografische Wahrnehmung und Geschichte des Kinos. Universidad de Jurisprudencia y Humanidades, Teil der BUAP, Puebla, Mexiko

Multimedia

2012

Wissenschaftlerin, cinematographer und Fotografin. Kuratorisches Projekt – Katalog der Kunstprojekte “Té para 2 México”, interaktive Performance der Künstlerin Weihong, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kuratorin Mafalda Budib, Puebla, Mexiko.

2012

El reflejo de Trinidad”, Theaterstück, Koautorin. Vorführung des Theaterstücks mit Unterstützung der Venezolanischen Botschaft in Berlin während der Veranstaltung “Con Rostro de Mujer” (Mit dem Antlitz der Frau), im Rahmen des Internationalen Tages zur Beseitigung von Gewalt gegen Frauen, Jugend[widerstands]museum Galiläakirche, Berlin, Deutschland

2007

Assistentin beim Workshop Dokumentarfilmprojekte. Erstes Festival der Erinnerung, lateinamerikanischer Dokumentarfilm in Tepoztlán. Facultad de Artes de la Universidad Autónoma del Estado de Morelos, Tepoztlán, Mexiko

"Konkave feministische Konstruktionen und Grammatik der audiovisuellen Montage in Lateinamerika (1986-2012)"


Betreuerin: Prof. Dr. Riánsares Lozano de la Pola (UNAM)


Dieses Forschungsprojekt spricht Themen wie Repräsentation, Subjektivitäten und Wiederherstellung der Körper in audiovisuellen Medien an. Anhand dieser Untersuchung wird unterschieden zwischen einer Montage als einer Übung feministischer Montage, welche als eine mögliche filmische „Gegenschrift“ gesehen werden kann, die mittels der Analyse von peripheren Produktionen des Kunstfilms betrachtet wird, sowie der Realisation von Videokunst in Lateinamerika zwischen 1986 und 2012.

Diese Forschung ist eingebettet in einem heterogenen Korpus der Filmproduktion, der von weiblichen Produzentinnen, Kollektiven und subalternen Subjekten herausgearbeitet ist, die sich mit ihrer Linse und ihren Körpern auflehnen gegen unterschiedliche lateinamerikanische Kontexte der Beherrschung, Gewalt, Diskriminierung, Unterdrückung, Ungerechtigkeit und unsichtbaren Geschichten.

Mit der Identifizierung von Äußerungen und Formulierungen der Dringlichkeit wird eine Anerkennung der audiovisuellen Ausdrucksformen der untersuchten Perioden angestrebt. Eine Art der Montage, die gebildet und reaktiviert wird von der Suche nach einer nicht nur symbolischen Wiederherstellung der Subjektivitäten, sondern auch einer Dialektik und Grundsätzen der Körper, die in einem permanenten Dialog zwischen einem markierten persönlichen Ort und einer deklarativen Kollektivität stehen.

Zur Erkennung und Erforschung der Motive, des Duktus und der diskursiven Modi der feministischen Montage dieser Analyse wird die Idee der „konkaven Montage“ eingeführt und entwickelt. Dieser Vorschlag der Konkavität innerhalb der Montage tritt bei Diskussionen, Ausdrucksformen und Darlegungen des neuen lateinamerikanischen Kinos (60er – 70er Jahre), der feministischen Bewegungen (filmische Aktionen, Praktiken und Theorien) und der Videokunst auf. In diesem Dreieck befinden und überschneiden sich weitere artistische Ausdrucksformen, kognitive Werkzeuge und Empowerment, wie Performance (aus der Sicht der Videokunst) und das Gewebe (künstlerische Praktiken, die als populär identifiziert werden).

Des Weiteren werden für die diskursive und kognitive Studie einer alternativen Montage der audiovisuellen Konstruktionen theoretische Ideen und Wissenschaftler aus der angewandten Semiotik des Kinos (Mitry, Metz, Kristeva, De Lauretis, Barthes) herangezogen. Diese betrachten Kino nicht nur als eine Kunst der Bewegung sowie ein ausdrucksstarkes und kommunikatives Werkzeug, sondern auch als eine potenzielle Sprache, die über einen besonders signifikanten Prozess verfügt.

In Anlehnung an die vorangegangenen Überlegungen werden die Beobachtungen der Artikulation der audiovisuellen Konstruktionen vertieft und durch die Weiterführung der Problematisierung des besagten signifikanten Prozesses des Kinos anhand von feministischen Theorien und Forschungen erläutert (Mulvey, De Lauretis, Kuhn, Millán, Pech, Juhasz, Kaplan, Johnston, Cusicanqui). Die herangezogenen Denkerinnen sehen Kino als das Knochenmark der genderorientierten Technologie und des Weiteren als Identifizierung der Mechanismen der Reproduktion. Dessen Funktionen stehen an den Anfängen dieser Filmkunst, da sie die Artikulationen und Reproduktionen von ungleicher Symbolik produzieren, reproduzieren und bewahren. Dies entsteht an ideologischen Orten der Kontrolle und Reproduktion von Gewalt und in Zusammenhang mit privilegierten Orten des Sehens sowie des Äußerns aus Sicht des Registers und der bevorzugten Kanäle der Verteilung.

Um den zentralen Terminus dieses Projektes zu erklären, wird der Begriff der Konkavität herangezogen, der von der Feministin Luce Irigaray anhand des konkaven Spiegelbildes entwickelt worden ist. Mittels dieser Idee stützt sich die Autorin auf einen Parallelismus der subversiven Notwendigkeit der Frauen, die sie auf eine strategische Art und Weise in das Innere projiziert, welches nicht kontrolliert wird durch maskuline Subjekte, die von außen auf sie wirken.

Nach innen übertragen mit einer Drehung der Flexion wird ein Raum neu entdeckt, der andere Formen der Anerkennung ermöglicht. Ein Territorium, welches die Idee eines echten Spiegels der eigenen Weiblichkeit vorschlägt, der sich zu sich selbst wendet und das Unbewusste enthüllt, welches wiederum der Bequemlichkeit, der Sicherheit und der Intervention der Subjekte von außen ein Ende setzt. Also handelt es sich um die Wiederbegegnung mit dem Inneren, welches neue Formen der Anerkennung  auf Basis der Autoreflexion formt.

Obwohl demzufolge der Ausgangspunkt dieser Forschung in gewissem Maße sich aus den potenten Untersuchungen von Irigaray nährt, wird in dieser Betrachtung der Montage der Terminus der Konkavität aufgenommen, um von dem Territorium der eigenen oder intimen Widerspiegelungen auszugehen, zum Zusammentreffen einer Öffnung, Refraktion und multiplen Austausch in Funktion der gemeinschaftlichen Dimension der Subjekte. Man kann anhand des Terminus der Konkavität sehen, dass er ein Eintauchen und eine Inklusion impliziert, sprich, man entdeckt einen partizipativen Blick, einen Blick, der einlädt zum Sehen einer verinnerlichten, platzierten und geteilten Position.