Module A4: Social and Cultural Anthropology of Latin America

Competence aims:

  • conveyance of in-depth knowledge of the social and cultural anthropology of Latin America as well as approaches to local-global socio-cultural dynamics in their transregional and constantly changing dimensions
  • ability to formulate research queries that are relevant to the current debate in this field and to examine them by applying theoretical and methodological approaches to socio-cultural dynamics and media representations that relate to the pre-colonial or the colonial era and/or the present
  • ability to autonomously conduct an empirical research or theoretical paper inland or abroad via the conceptualization of a research project on a topic within the social and cultural anthropology of Latin America, a differentiated analysis and the presentation of initial results

Learning content:

  • conveyance of in-depth knowledge of selected theoretical debates and multimethodological approaches in a topic area in the social and cultural anthropology of Latin America
  • acquirement and application of ethno-historical, ethno-linguistic, ethnological and media-ethnological work techniques that are relevant for a chosen research question
  • ability to solve research questions with a view of global processes of transformation, transregional entanglements, local appropriations of culture and social structure as well as categories of power such as ethnicity, class and gender
  • Development of relevant research questions whose theoretical foundation (verb?) the selection of appropriate methods as well as the analysis, interpretative assessment, and presentation of initial results

Modul A4: Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie Lateinamerikas

Qualifikationsziele

  • Vermittlung vertiefender Kenntnisse über die Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie Lateinamerikas und über Ansätze zu lokal-globalen soziokulturellen Dynamiken in ihren transregionalen und sich zeitlich transformierenden Dimensionen
  • Fähigkeit  eigene Forschungsfragen, die für eine ausgewählte aktuelle Debatte in diesem Feld relevant sind, zu formulieren und diese durch Anwendung eines theoretischen und methodischen Ansatzes zu soziokulturellen Dynamiken und medialen Repräsentationen, die die präkoloniale oder die Kolonialzeit und/oder die Gegenwart betreffen, zu bearbeiten
  • Befähigung eine empirische Forschungs- oder Theoriearbeit im In- oder Ausland eigenständig durchzuführen, durch die Konzeptionalisierung eines Forschungsprojekts zu einem Thema der Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie Lateinamerikas, die differenzierte Analyse und die Präsentation erster Ergebnisse

Lerninhalte

  • Vermittlung  vertiefender Kenntnisse über ausgewählte theoretische Debatten und multimethodische Zugänge in einem Themenfeld der Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie Lateinamerikas
  • Erlernen und Anwendung von ethnohistorischen, ethnolinguistischen, ethnologischen und medienethnologischen Arbeitstechniken, die für ausgewählte Forschungsfragen relevant sind
  • Fähigkeit Forschungsfragen mit Blick auf globale Transformationsprozesse, transregionale Verflechtungen, lokale Aneignungen von Kultur und Sozialstruktur sowie Machtkategorien wie Ethnie, Klasse und Gender zu lösen
  • Entwicklung relevanter Forschungsfragen, deren theoretische Fundierung, die Auswahl von geeigneten Methoden sowie die Analyse und die interpretative Auswertung bis hin zur Präsentation erster Ergebnisse