Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Research and Fellows

The main areas of research in Cultural and Social Anthropology at the LAI are the anthropology of migration, anthropology of religion, transatlantic interrelations, visual anthropology and the anthropology of media, urban anthropology as well as ethno- and sociolinguistics specialized in indigenous languages. These areas contribute to the interdisciplinary research profile of the LAI: “Latin America: Entanglements and Translations”. The research projects focus on transnational, transregional and translocal entanglements as well as the epistemologies and historicities upon which they build. On the one hand they form Latin America´s past, even before the European invasion of the continent, and on the other hand the present age.

These research interests also find an expression in the current doctoral projects. Cultural and Social Anthropology trains Ph.D. students at the International Research Training Group "Temporalities of Future in Latin America. Dynamics of Aspiration and Anticipation", “Between Spaces. Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalization” (2009-2018), desiguALdades.net – International Research Network “Interdependent Inequalities in Latin America” and the interdisciplinary Brazil Research Center of the LAI.

The results of research are regularly presented to peers at the congresses of the German Society of Anthropology (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie), the Society of Ethnography (Gesellschaft für Ethnographie), the European Association of Social Anthropologists and the International Congresses of Americanists.

Current projects:

  • The DFG project "Organized violence, new migration patterns, and development: A comparative study in Europe and the Americas" led by Prof. Dr. Stephanie Schütze and Prof. Dr. Ludger Pries of Ruhr Universität Bochum examines organized violence in the context of (forced) migration. Within a transregional comparative study with a focus on the transit states Mexico and Turkey, the projects emphasizes the actor perspective connected to questions of development and changing migration patterns and politics. By means of ethnographic research, quantitative study and different interview methods, the researchers will collect data on a micro, meso and macro level and analize it with partner institutions from the countries of origin, transit and arrival (funding period 2019-2022).
  • The DFG project "Soccer as a Space of Belonging: Amateur Soccer Teams of Latin American migrants in Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo" examines the emergence of spaces of belonging in the context of migration and amateur football. The ethnographic research focuses on amateur teams of Peruvian and Bolivian migrants in the Brazilian metropolises of Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo. The social significance of soccer as an everyday transcultural practice is analyzed. Particular attention is being paid to the gender-specific differences between female and male amateur soccer teams. Headed by Prof. Dr. Stephanie Schütze the project investigates the transcultural and gender-specific appropriation strategies that migrant soccer players adapt when opening spaces of belonging (funding period 2017-2020).

Completed projects with funding:

  • The Collaborative Research Center “Affective Societies” (CRC 1171) is aiming to establish a new long-term understanding of societies as affective societies—an understanding that acknowledges the fundamental importance of emotionality and affectivity for social life in the mobile, networked, and mediatized worlds of the 21st century. The participating scientists from ten disciplines assume that emotions and affect are not just something on the fringes of society; they form the basis for every kind of social activity. Besides Freie Universität Berlin, the CRC includes the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy of the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, a joint body of Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and the Institute of Sociology of the Technische Universität Berlin.
  • The area of Cultural and Social Anthropology of the Institute for Latin American Studies heads the subproject A05 "The Affective Creation of 'Home': Patron Saint Fiesta Videos in the Transnational Setting of Mexico / USA" of the CRC 1171 funded by DFG. Taking an anthropological perspective, the subproject explores how actors affectively produce a multi-sited ‘home’ between Mexico and the US in and through the medium of fiesta videos. The videos constitute a genre of their own that has emerged since 2000 as part of the international migration from the Oaxacan Sierra Norte to the US; the Sierra Norte is currently one of Mexico’s main regions of outmigration. Headed by Prof. Dr. Ingrid Kummels the subproject investigates how actors create ‘home’ across the international border by producing, circulating and consuming video films that document the clebration in honour of the patron saint of the Mexican village of origin (funding period 2015-2019).
  • Zeitzeugen des Kulturkontakts: Neue Forschungs- und Interpretationszugänge zum materiellen Erbe der indigenen Bevölkerung des Amazonasgebietes (Oberer Rio Negro) is a joint project with Dr. Michael Kraus (Universität Bonn) and Prof. Dr. Ernst Halbmayer (Universität Marburg). The congress on this subject which combines the participation of local experts on the Columbian Amazonia and university academics specializing in museum collections of the material culture of this region is planned for August 2014 (funded by the Volkswagen Stiftung).
  • Project Erforschung interkultureller Kommunikationsräume in Alt-Peru am Beispiel der formativzeitlichen Besiedlung der Siedlungskammer Cayán. This archaeological, ethnohistorical and social anthropological project investigated the role of the Cayán valley for communication and exchange between the highlands and the lowlands of Peru in a perspective from the pre-Columbian era up to the present (funded by the German Research Foundation, DFG).

Current postdoctoral projects:

  • Ximena Alba Villalever: postdoctoral researcher at “Organised violence and new migration patterns”
  • Franziska Bedorf: “The Affective Creation of ‘Home’: Patron Saint Fiesta Videos in the Transnational Context of Mexico/USA” (Head of project Prof. Ingrid Kummels) within SFB 1171 “Affective Societies”

Completed postdoctoral projects:

  • Sabina Aguilera: "Unraveling Tarahumara perceptions of landscape through historical documents"

Current habilitations:

  • Carmen Ibáñez: "Fragmented Future? Projections, Expectations and Imaginaries in the Popular Markets of the Andes"
  • Claudia Rauhut: “Slavery Reparations in the Caribbean: Transregional Perspectives on Actors, Debates, and the Politics of History"

Completed habilitations:

  • Stephanie Schütze: "Transnationale politische Räume: Arenen des politischen Engagements mexikanischer Migrant/innen zwischen Mexiko und den USA"
  • Karoline Noack: "Textilien und die Produktion von kolonialer Differenz in der Kontaktzone: Trujillo in der nördlichen audiencia Lima, Peru im 16. und frühen 17. Jahrhundert" (2010)

Guests & Fellows

2019

Profesor en el Departamento de Ciencias Sociales y Humanas, Universidad de Medellín, Colombia
Georg Forster-Forschungsstipendium der Humboldt Stiftung
Forschungsaufenthalt, 01.03.2019 - 31.08.2019

2018

Campbell Family Professor of Anthropology, Columbia University, USA
Received the Humboldt-Forschungspreis, one of the most acknowledged awards ot the german academic field
Research stay 04.2018 - 06.2018

2017

Winner of the Humboldt-Investigation-award 2017 (Humboldt-Forschungspreis)
Research stay 2017-2018

  • Dr. Judith Solís Téllez

Profesora-Investigadora de la Universidad Autónoma de Guerrero

  • Dr. Silvia Guadalupe Alarcón Sánchez

Profesora-Investigadora de la Universidad Autónoma de Guerrero
Research stay 15.5. - 15.7. 2017 financed by COCITYEG, CONACYT and Universidad Autónoma de Guerrero

2016

Professora Titular, Departamento de Política Científica e Tecnológica, Universidade Estadual de Campinas.
Research stay 1.9. - 30.9. 2016 financed by the Center for International Cooperation, Freien Universität Berlin

2015

Profesora-Investigadora del Departamento de Estudios Culturales de El Colegio de la Frontera Norte (COLEF)
Research stay 15.06. - 15.07.2015

2014

Director "Center for African and African American Research", Duke University
James Lorand Matory won the Humboldt-Forschungspreise 2013 award. 
Research stay: 15.01.2014 - 15.12.2014

Departamento de Ciencias Sociales, Sección de Antropología, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú (PUCP)
Georg-Forster Grant
Neoliberalism as cultural regime: a performative approach to the understanding of culture, personhood and power in contemporary Perú.
Research stay: 01.01.2014 - 31.03.2014 and 01.10.2014 - 31.12.2014.

2013

  • Prof. Dr. Ana Luiza Carvalho da Rocha  

Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre
Research stay (CAPES), 01.09.2013 - 25.01.2014

  • Prof. Dr. Cornelia Eckert

Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre
Research stay funded by: UFRGS, 01.09. - 30.11.2013  

  • Paola Garibi Harper

El Colegio de Michoacán 
Imaginario social de la niñez nahua jomalera migrante sobre el trabajo infantil en la zafra de Cuauhtémoc, Colima
Research stay: 01.05.-31.10.2013

2012

  • Diana Bocarejo

Universidad del Rosario in Bogotá Colombia, Escuela de Ciencias Humanas
Cultural heritage in multicultural Colombia and globalization
Reseacrh stay: 07.06.-20.07.2012

2011

  • Diana Bocarejo

Universidad del Rosario in Bogotá Colombia, Escuela de Ciencias Humanas
Cultural heritage in multicultural Colombia and globalization
Research stay: 04.12.-09.12.2011

  • Alejandro Garcés

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Facultad de Filosofía y Letras, IMEDES, Spanien
Migraciones peruanas en Santiago de Chile: el lugar de lo comercial en la construcción del espacio urbano
Research stay: 28.02.-28.05.2011

  • Menara Lube Guizardi

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, IMEDES, Spanien
Localmente globales. Permanencia y flujo de los grupos de Capoeira en Madrid
Research stay: 28.02.-28.05.2011

2010

  • Deborah Dorotinsky

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexiko
Encauzar la mirada: Arquitectura, pedagogía e imágenes en México 1920-1950
Research stay: 23.09.-06.10.2010

  • Rihan Yeh

University of Chicago, USA
Passing: An Ethnography of Status, Self and the Public in a Mexican Border City
Research stay: 20./21.05.2010

Zwischen Räumen
Desigualdades
Forschungszentrum Brasilien
MISEAL

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Forschung & Fellows

Zentrale Forschungsfelder der Altamerikanistik/Kulturanthropologie sind die Visuelle und Medienanthropologie, Migrationsethnologie, Genderforschung, Emotionsforschung, Politische Anthropologie, Religionsethnologie, Sportethnologie sowie Soziolinguistik und Linguistik am Beispiel indigener Sprachen. Sie tragen zum interdisziplinären Forschungsprofil Lateinamerika: Verflechtungen und Translationen des Lateinamerika-Instituts bei. Die Forschungsprojekte fokussieren transnationale, transregionale und translokale Verflechtungen und die darauf aufbauenden Wissensprojekte und Historizitäten, die einerseits die Vergangenheit Lateinamerikas, schon vor der europäischen Eroberung, und andererseits die Gegenwart prägen.

Die Forschungsinteressen finden auch in den aktuellen Dissertationsprojekten Ausdruck. Die Altamerikanistik/Kulturanthropologie bildet Doktorand*innen im Rahmen des internationalen Graduiertenkollegs Internationalen Graduiertenkollegs "Temporalities of Future in Latin America. Dynamics of Aspiration and Anticipation", „Entre Espacios – Zwischen Räumen. Bewegungen, Akteure und Repräsentationen der Globalisierung” (2009-2018), des SFB "Affective Societies" sowie des „Forschungszentrums Brasilien” aus.

Forschungsergebnisse werden u.a. im Rahmen der Tagungen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie, der Gesellschaft für Ethnographie, der European Association of Social Anthropologists und der Congresos Internacionales de Americanistas regelmäßig vorgestellt.

Aktuelle Drittmittelprojekte

  • Das DFG-Sachbeihilfe-Projekt "Organized violence, new migration patterns, and development: A comparative study in Europe and the Americas" unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Stephanie Schütze und Prof. Dr. Ludger Pries von der Ruhr Universität Bochum untersucht organisierte Gewalt im Rahmen von (Zwangs-) Migration. In einer transregionalen Vergleichsstudie mit vertieftem Fokus auf die Transitländer Mexiko und Türkei, soll insbesondere die Akteur_innenperspektive eingebettet in die Frage nach Entwicklung und sich verändernden Migrationsmustern und -politiken zum Tragen kommen. Mithilfe von ethnographischer Forschung, quantitativen Studien und verschiedenen Interviewmethoden sollen auf Mikro- , Meso und Makroebene (vom Individuum bis zu nationalen und supranationalen Politiken) Daten erhoben und gemeinsam mit Partnerinstitutionen aus den Herkunfts-, Transit- und Ankunftsländern systematisiert werden (Laufzeit 2019-2022).
  • Das DFG-Sachbeihilfe-Projekt "Fußball als Zugehörigkeitsraum: Amateurfußballteams lateinamerikanischer Migrant/innen in Rio de Janeiro und São Paulo" untersucht das Entstehen von Zugehörigkeitsräumen im Kontext von Migration und Amateurfußball. Dies wird ethnographisch am Beispiel von Amateurfußballteams von peruanischen und bolivianischen Migrant/innen in den brasilianischen Metropolen Rio de Janeiro und São Paulo untersucht. Dabei soll die gesellschaftliche Bedeutung von Fußball als alltägliche transkulturelle Praktik analysiert werden. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf den geschlechtsspezifischen Unterschieden zwischen weiblichen und männlichen Amateurfußball-teams. Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Stephanie Schütze wird untersucht, welche transkulturellen und geschlechts-spezifischen Aneignungsstrategien migrantische Amateurfußballspieler-/innen zur Ausgestaltung von Zugehörigkeitsräumen bilden (Laufzeit 2017-2020).

Abgeschlossene Drittmittelprojekte

  • Der DFG-Sonderforschungsbereich „Affective Societies – Dynamiken des Zusammenlebens in bewegten Welten“ verfolgt das Ziel, ein neues Verständnis von Gesellschaften zu etablieren, das der fundamentalen Bedeutung von Emotionalität und Affektivität für das Zusammenleben in den mobilen und vernetzten Welten des 21. Jahrhunderts Rechnung trägt. Die teilnehmenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus zehn Disziplinen gehen davon aus, dass Emotionen und Affekte keine Randphänomene sind, sondern die Basis jeglicher Sozialität. Beteiligte Einrichtungen sind neben der Freien Universität die Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin, der gemeinsame medizinische Fachbereich von Freier Universität und Humboldt-Universität sowie das Institut für Soziologie der Technischen Universität Berlin.

  • Die Altamerikanistik/Kulturanthropologie des Lateinamerika-Instituts beteiligt sich mit dem Teilprojekt A05 „Die affektive Produktion von ‚Heimat‘: Patronatsfestvideos im transnationalen Kontext Mexiko/USA“ am SFB 1171. Es untersucht aus visuell-anthropologischer Perspektive, wie zwischen Mexiko und den USA transnationale Zugehörigkeit in und durch das Medium des Patronatsfestvideos affektiv hergestellt und verhandelt wird. Die Videos konstituieren ein eigenes Genre, das seit dem Jahr 2000 im Zuge der internationalen Migration aus Oaxacas Sierra Norte in die USA, aktuell eine der Hauptsenderegionen Mexikos, entstanden ist. Unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Ingrid Kummels geht das Teilprojekt der Frage nach, wie die Akteur_innen grenzübergreifend affektiv ‚Heimat‘ im Rahmen der Produktion, der Zirkulation und des Konsums von Videofilmen, die das Fest zu Ehren der Schutzheiligen in der mexikanischen Herkunftsgemeinde dokumentieren, bilden (Laufzeit 2015-2019).
  • Zeitzeugen des Kulturkontakts: Neue Forschungs- und Interpretationszugänge zum materiellen Erbe der indigenen Bevölkerung des Amazonasgebietes (Oberer Rio Negro), Gemeinschaftsprojekt von Prof. Dr. Ingrid Kummels (FU Berlin) mit Dr. Michael Kraus (Universität Bonn) und Prof. Dr. Ernst Halbmayer (Universität Marburg), finanziert durch die Volkswagen Stiftung. (2014)
  • DFG-Projekt „Erforschung interkultureller Kommunikationsräume in Alt-Peru am Beispiel der formativzeitlichen Besiedlung der Siedlungskammer Cayán“. (2009-2010)

Aktuelle Post-Doc-Projekte

Abgeschlossene Post-Doc-Projekte

  • Sabina Aguilera: "Unraveling Tarahumara perceptions of landscape through historical documents"

Aktuelle Habilitationen

  • Carmen Ibáñez: "Fragmented Future? Projections, Expectations and Imaginaries in the Popular Markets of the Andes"
  • Claudia Rauhut: “Slavery Reparations in the Caribbean: Transregional Perspectives on Actors, Debates, and the Politics of History"

Abgeschlossene Habilitationen

  • Stephanie Schütze: "Transnationale politische Räume: Arenen des politischen Engagements mexikanischer Migrant/innen zwischen Mexiko und den USA"
  • Karoline Noack: "Textilien und die Produktion von kolonialer Differenz in der Kontaktzone: Trujillo in der nördlichen audiencia Lima, Peru im 16. und frühen 17. Jahrhundert" (2010)

Guests & Fellows

2019

Prof. Dra. Alejandra Leal Martínez

Investigadora del Centro de Investigaciones Interdisciplinarias en Ciencias y Humanidades (CEIICH), Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Programa de Investigación Ciudades, Gestión, Territorio y Ambiente
Forschungsaufenthalt: 1.8.19 - 31.7.20

Prof. Dra. Silvia Romio

Investigadora en la Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Perú (PUCP)
Departamento Académico de Ciencias Sociales - Sección Antropología
Global Faculty Program, FU Berlin
Forschungsaufenthalt, 16.12.19 - 15.3.20

Rafael Camilo Quishpe

Docente- Investigador - Universidad del Rosario
Facultad de Jurisprudencia – JANUS
DAAD- Forschungsstipendium
Forschungsaufenthalt, 01.10.19 - 01.11.19

Prof. Dr. Gabriel Alberto Ruiz Romero

Profesor en el Departamento de Ciencias Sociales y Humanas, Universidad de Medellín, Colombia
Georg Forster-Forschungsstipendium der Humboldt Stiftung
Forschungsaufenthalt, 01.03.2019 - 31.08.2019

2018

Prof. Dr. Claudio Lomnitz

Campbell Family Professor of Anthropology, Columbia University, USA
Erhielt den Humboldt-Forschungspreis und damit eine der höchsten Auszeichnungen in der deutschen Wissenschaftslandschaft.
Forschungsaufenthalt, 04.2018 - 06.2018

2017

Prof. Dr. Claudio Lomnitz

Gewinner des Humboldt-Forschungspreises 2017
Forschungsaufenthalt 2017-2018.

2017

Dr. Judith Solís Téllez

Profesora-Investigadora de la Universidad Autónoma de Guerrero
Dr. Silvia Guadalupe Alarcón Sánchez
Profesora-Investigadora de la Universidad Autónoma de Guerrero
Forschungsaufenthalt vom 15.5. - 15.7. 2017 gefördert von COCITYEG, CONACYT und der Universidad Autónoma de Guerrero.

2016

Maria Conceição da Costa

Professora Titular, Departamento de Política Científica e Tecnológica, Universidade Estadual de Campinas.
Forschungsaufenthalt vom 1.9. - 30.9. 2016 gefördert vom Center for International Cooperation der Freien Universität Berlin.

2015

Laura Velasco Ortiz

Profesora-Investigadora del Departamento de Estudios Culturales de El Colegio de la Frontera Norte (COLEF)
Forschungsaufenthalt, 15.06. - 15.07.2015

2014

James Lorand Matory

Direktor des "Center for African and African American Research", Duke University
James Lorand Matory erhielt einen der Humboldt-Forschungspreise 2013 und damit eine der höchsten Auszeichnungen in der deutschen Wissenschaftslandschaft.
Forschungsaufenthalt, 15.01.2014 - 15.12.2014

Gisela Cánepa Koch

Departamento de Ciencias Sociales, Sección de Antropología, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú (PUCP)
Georg-Forster-Forschungsstipendium für erfahrene Wissenschaftler der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung mit dem Forschungsprojekt: Neoliberalism as cultural regime: a performative approach to the understanding of culture, personhood and power in contemporary Perú.
Forschungsaufenthalt, 01.01.2014 - 31.03.2014 und 01.10.2014 - 31.12.2014.

2013

Prof. Dr. Ana Luiza Carvalho da Rocha  

Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre
Forschungsaufenthalt (CAPES), 01.09.2013 bis 25.01.2014

Prof. Dr. Cornelia Eckert

Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre
Forschungsaufenthalt unterstützt durch die UFRGS, 01.09. bis 30.11.2013  

Paola Garibi Harper

El Colegio de Michoacán
Imaginario social de la niñez nahua jomalera migrante sobre el trabajo infantil en la zafra de Cuauhtémoc, Colima
Forschungsaufenthalt, 01.05.-31.10.2013

2012

Diana Bocarejo

Universidad del Rosario in Bogotá Colombia, Escuela de Ciencias Humanas
Cultural heritage in multicultural Colombia and globalization
Forschungsaufenthalt, 07.06.-20.07.2012

2011

Diana Bocarejo

Universidad del Rosario in Bogotá Colombia, Escuela de Ciencias Humanas
Cultural heritage in multicultural Colombia and globalization
Forschungsaufenthalt, 04.12.-09.12.2011

Alejandro Garcés

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Facultad de Filosofía y Letras, IMEDES, Spanien
Migraciones peruanas en Santiago de Chile: el lugar de lo comercial en la construcción del espacio urbano
Forschungsaufenthalt, 28.02.-28.05.2011

Menara Lube Guizardi

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, IMEDES, Spanien
Localmente globales. Permanencia y flujo de los grupos de Capoeira en Madrid
Forschungsaufenthalt, 28.02.-28.05.2011

2010

Deborah Dorotinsky

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexiko
Encauzar la mirada: Arquitectura, pedagogía e imágenes en México 1920-1950
Forschungsaufenthalt, 23.09.-06.10.2010

Rihan Yeh

University of Chicago, USA
Passing: An Ethnography of Status, Self and the Public in a Mexican Border City
20./21.05.2010

Estudios en Inclusión, Interseccionalidad y Equidad
Temporalities of Future
Zwischen Räumen
Forschungszentrum Brasilien