General information regarding the program

This interdsiciplinary Master's program should be completed within two years, as full-time study. Students are expected to work between 35-40 hours per week (300 hours per module). Usually, 12 hours of contact time (Semesterwochenstunden SWS) are covered by courses each semester. The remaining hours should be dedicated to self-study  (240 hours per module). Self-study includes, but is not limited to, independent reading (approx. 100 to 150 pages a week), participation on online learning platforms, preparation of presentations and discussions and writing of smaller assifnements and longer assessed papers. For those who combine their studies with a full-time employment or other committments, it is possible to study part-time.

Related Links

The number of courses taught in German, English, Spanish and Portuguese vary depending on the aims and objectives of the courses. Students should be able to actively participate in German and Spanish or Portuguese, in both writing and speaking. Furthermore, students should be able to read texts in English as it is one of the main languages used in academic writing. Therefore, prior knowledge of English will be helpful to actively take part in the courses.

The regular period of study consists of four semesters (including the Master’s thesis and all other corresponding assessments). The curriculum is strucutred with modules. Two content-related courses generally form a module that extends, at most, over two consecutive semesters.

Generally, a semester abroad is recommended in the third semester. For more information, please visit our page Questions about going abroad.

In principle, this is possible but can only be decided by the examination committee. The credit requirements in question must however be fulfilled. Before students enter courses at other universities, it is strongly recommended that they discuss their plans with the coordinators of the Master's program as well as with the Heads of their respective module and specialization areas.

Please note, that you will have to decide for a profile at the beginning of your studies. Although there is some overlapping between the profiles, that choice will decide your focus in your studies. Therefore it would be good if you take a look at them already before the semester starts.

With a prior agreement with the Enrollment Office, it is possible to interrup your studies in the first semester.

No, you don't have to complete an internship in this Master's program. You can, however, complete one in the third semester as a module Wissenschaftspraxis II and receive credit points for it.

Credit points (Leistungspunkte LP) are rewarded for exams you complete. For the M.A. “Interdisciplinary Latin American Studies”, a total of 120 LP must be completed, meaning that an average of 30 LP per semester should be obtained. Credit points are awarded for successfully completed modules, not for individual courses. Students receive 10 LP for a successfully completed module, for the Master’s thesis (including the relevant colloquium) they receive 30 LP.

The credit points are certified to the students when the set requirements are fulfilled with a minimum score of „adequate“ (4.0).

Yes. Spanish courses are offered by the "Zentraleinrichtung Sprachenzentrum" of Freie Universität Berlin. Students at the Latin American Institute get prioritary admission for these courses. The students have to make sure they register at the Zentraleinrichtugn Sprachenzentrum on time. Here you can find information about the courses and here is the necessary information to register.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Allgemeine Infos zum Studium

Der Studiengang ist als Vollzeitstudiengang konzipiert. Dabei wird von 35 bis 40 Stunden studentischer Arbeitszeit in der Woche ausgegangen (300 Stunden pro Modul). In der Regel sind 12 Semesterwochenstunden pro Semester mit den Veranstaltungen abgedeckt (Präsenzzeiten). Der Rest ist für das Selbststudium vorgesehen (240 Stunden pro Modul). Das Selbststudium beinhaltet beispielsweise die Lektüre von Texten (etwa 100 bis 150 Seiten pro Woche), das Engagement auf den Lernplattformen, das Vorbereiten von Referaten und Diskussionen, das Verfassen von Protokollen, kleineren schriftlichen Arbeiten und größeren Hausarbeiten. Für Berufstätige, die neben dem Studium arbeiten wollen oder müssen, gibt es die Möglichkeit, ein Teilzeitstudium zu beantragen.

Links zum Thema

Die Anteile variieren abhängig von den Themen und Zielen der Lehrveranstaltungen. Die Studierenden sollten sich erstens aktiv mündlich und schriftlich in der deutschen und spanischen oder portugiesischen Sprache an den Veranstaltungen beteiligen können. Zweitens sollten die Studierenden englischsprachige Texte lesen und verstehen können, weil Englisch eine der wichtigsten Wissenschaftssprachen ist. Das Lesen und Verstehen der englischen Sprache ist deshalb Voraussetzung für die aktive Teilnahme an den Veranstaltungen.

Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt vier Semester (einschließlich Masterarbeit und aller Prüfungsleistungen). Das Curriculum ist modularisiert. Dabei bilden in der Regel zwei inhaltlich aufeinander bezogene Lehrveranstaltungen ein Modul, das sich über höchstens zwei aufeinanderfolgende Semester erstreckt.

Ein Auslandssemester ist im dritten Fachsemester möglich. Mehr Informationen zum dritten Fachsemester findest du hier: FAQ-Liste zum Auslandsaufenthalt.

Prinzipiell ist dies möglich und wird vom Prüfungsausschuss entschieden. Die betreffenden Leistungsanforderungen müssen jedoch erfüllt werden. Bevor Kurse anderer Universitäten angetreten werden, wird dringend dazu geraten, die Pläne mit der Masterkoordination und den jeweiligen Modul- und Profilverantwortlichen zu besprechen.

Bitte beachte, dass die Profilwahl bereits zu Anfang des ersten Semesters erfolgt. Die Profilwahl entscheidet über deinen Studienschwerpunkt. Nichtsdestotrotz sind Veranstaltungen zum Teil profilübergreifend. Im Rahmen der Zusatzkompetenzen kannst du z.B. auch ein komplettes Modul eines anderen Profilbereichs absolvieren.

In Absprache mit dem Immatrikulationsbüro ist unter Umständen auch im ersten Fachsemester ein Urlaubssemester möglich.

Nein, im Master Interdisziplinäre Lateinamerikastudien gibt es kein verpflichtendes Praktikum. Es besteht jedoch im Rahmen des Moduls Wissenschaftspraxis I die Möglichkeit, ein Praktikum zu absolvieren und sich dieses anrechnen zu lassen.

Für Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen werden Leistungspunkte (LP) vergeben. Für den erfolgreichen Abschluss des Masterstudiengangs “Interdisziplinäre Lateinamerikastudien” sind insgesamt 120 LP zu erwerben. Pro Semester werden durchschnittlich 30 LP erworben. Leistungspunkte werden für ein ganzes, erfolgreich abgeschlossenes Modul vergeben, nicht für einzelne Lehrveranstaltungen. Für ein erfolgreich abgeschlossenes Modul werden 10 LP vergeben, für die Masterarbeit (einschließlich des begleitenden Kolloquiums) 30 LP.

Die Leistungspunkte werden den Studierenden bescheinigt, wenn die festgelegten Anforderungen mindestens mit der Note “ausreichend” (4.0) erfüllt sind.

Ja. Spanischsprachkurse werden von der Zentraleinrichtung Sprachenzentrum der FU angeboten. Studierende des LAI werden begünstigt zu den Kursen zugelassen. Allerdings müssen sich die Studierenden selbst um die fristgerechte Anmeldung am Sprachenzentrum bemühen. Infos zur Anmeldung finden sich hier. Das Kursangebot findet sich unter dem folgenden Link.