Master of Arts (M.A.) in Interdisciplinary Latin American Studies

Studieren am LAI
Studieren am LAI
Image Credit: Kristina Dietz

The M.A. „Interdisciplinary Latin American Studies“ is a research-oriented postgraduate course of study which is intended for students with a first diploma with professional relevance in a relevant course of field. It offers the possibility of broadening the studied major on a regionally specific level as well as attaining interdisciplinary competences. The course of study, which lasts a total of four semesters, begins in the winter semester.

At a glance: The M.A. offers:

  • a link of regional expertise with a methodology specific to a particular subject
  • interdisciplinary linkage as well as disciplinary consolidation
  • internationality via the possibility of a semester abroad
  • real-life relevance via the project module
  • research or professional practice via the module scientific practice

The course of study stands in the interdisciplinary tradition of teaching and research at the Institute of Latin American Studies. In view of increasing global interdependencies, it aims to impart regional and intercultural competences that allow students an in-depth understanding of national, transregional and global processes. Students will be qualified to analyze historical, political and societal transformation processes and Latin America’s dynamics and to allocate them to their respective contexts. Based on the concept of Area Studies, a distinct regional specific expertise is imparted. Correspondingly, students will have the possibility to look more intensively into individual regions such as Brazil. Gender specific queries will also receive special consideration.

Using transdisciplinary forms of teaching and learning as well as new media in teaching (e-learning), the different traditions and perspectives of various disciplines will be implemented in the program. The course of study also offers the students an interdisciplinary academic exchange as well as intensive supervision which will ease the integration of foreign students.

Organization and goals

The consecutive M.A. is modularized. It consists of a core area, a specialization area, an area of research practice and an elective area. Each module includes two courses. The aim of the program is the acquirement or consolidation of academic and interdisciplinary knowledge and competences with professional relevance which enable a future occupation in a wide field both inside and outside of the university, for example:

  • international relations (development cooperation, advising in foreign affairs, international organizations, non-governmental organizations);
  • education (university, research institutes, adult education);
  • media (newspapers and media, publishing industry, libraries, public relations, archival work);
  • culture (museums, intercultural exchange, tourism);
  • advising;
  • foundations, associations, etc.

The research-oriented profile allows the well-founded preparation for a later Ph.D. program.

The M.A. prepares students to analyze and interpret historical, political, and social processes and cultural dynamics, as well as to allocate these to their corresponding context. Besides Latin American regional competence, intercultural questions and topics in gender studies will also be attended to.

Masterstudiengang Interdisziplinäre Lateinamerikastudien (M.A.)

Master Interdisziplinäre Lateinamerikastudien
Master Interdisziplinäre Lateinamerikastudien
Bildquelle: Koordinationsteam LAI

Der Masterstudiengang „Interdisziplinäre Lateinamerikastudien“ ist ein weiterführender forschungsorientierter Studiengang, der sich an Studierende mit einem ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss in fachrelevanten Studiengängen richtet. Er bietet die Möglichkeit, die studierte Fachrichtung regionalspezifisch zu erweitern und zugleich interdisziplinäre Kenntnisse zu erwerben. Der viersemestrige Studiengang beginnt zum Wintersemester.

Auf einen Blick: Der Masterstudiengang nach Studienordnung (StO) 2013 bietet:

  • Verbindung regionaler Expertise mit fachspezifischer Methodik

  • interdisziplinäre Verflechtung und disziplinäre Vertiefung

  • Internationalität durch die Möglichkeit eines Auslandssemesters

  • Praxisbezug durch das Projektmodul

  • Forschungs- oder Berufpraxis durch das Modul Wissenschatspraxis

 Der Studiengang steht in der interdisziplinären Tradition von Lehre und Forschung des Lateinamerika-Instituts. Er zielt angesichts wachsender globaler Verflechtungen auf die Vermittlung regionaler und interkultureller Kompetenzen, die den Studierenden ein profundes Verständnis nationaler, transregionaler und globaler Prozesse ermöglichen. Die Studierenden werden dazu befähigt, historische, politische und gesellschaftliche Transformationsprozesse und kulturelle Dynamiken Lateinamerikas zu analysieren und in ihre jeweiligen Zusammenhänge einzuordnen. Basierend auf dem Konzept der Area Studies wird eine ausgeprägte regionalspezifische Expertise vermittelt. Hierbei besteht die Möglichkeit, sich mit einzelnen Regionen wie etwa Brasilien intensiver auseinanderzusetzen. Besondere Berücksichtigung finden auch geschlechtsspezifische Fragestellungen.

Mit Hilfe transdisziplinärer Lehr- und Lernformen und mit dem Einsatz der neuen Medien in der Lehre (e-Learning) werden die unterschiedlichen Traditionen und Perspektiven der verschiedenen Disziplinen für das Studium nutzbar gemacht. Der Studiengang bietet den Studierenden einen interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Austausch sowie eine intensive Betreuung, die die Integration ausländischer Studierender erleichtern wird.

Aufbau und Ziele

Der konsekutive Masterstudiengang ist modularisiert. Er besteht aus einem Kernbereich, einem Profilbereich, einem Bereich Forschungspraxis und einem Wahlbereich. Jedes Modul umfasst zwei Veranstaltungen. Ziel des Studienganges ist der Erwerb bzw. die Vertiefung wissenschaftlicher und berufsqualifizierender interdisziplinärer Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen, die eine spätere Berufstätigkeit in einem breiten Feld innerhalb wie außerhalb der Universität ermöglichen, wie z.B.:

  • Internationale Beziehungen (Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Beratung für ausländische Angelegenheiten, Internationale Organisationen, Nichtregierungsorganisationen)

  • Bildung (Universität, Forschungseinrichtungen, Erwachsenenbildung)

  • Medien (Zeitungen und Medien, Verlagswesen, Bibliotheken, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Archivarbeit)

  • Kultur (Museen, Interkultureller Austausch, Tourismus)

  • Beratung

  • Stiftungen, Verbänden, etc.

Das forschungsorientierte Profil ermöglicht insbesondere die fundierte Vorbereitung auf eine spätere Promotion.

Das Masterstudium bereitet die Studierenden darauf vor historische, politische, soziale Prozesse und kulturelle Dynamiken zu analysieren und interpretieren, sowie diese in den entsprechenden Kontext einzuordnen. Neben der Regionalkompetenz zu Lateinamerika werden außerdem interkulturelle Fragen und Themen der Gender Studies bearbeitet.