Cuba

Sociology

The department of Sociology at the Latin American Institute is also part of the department of Social and Political Science at the Free University. With its emphases on teaching and investigation, it combines an interdisciplinary focus on Latin America with new methodological and theoretical developments in different areas of sociology.

Within this area of study, two main research themes stand in the foreground:

The first battery of questions center around the macro-sociological (self)consciousness, which challenges all presentations that follow the modernization theory, considering Latin America a underdeveloped copy of the European Modernity. At the same time, the ongoing process of developing a modern world society is assumed, within which Latin American societies since the colonial times have been an interdependent aspect.

The second set of questions relates to constructs of power and difference. This theme includes micro- social and cultural analyses, which examine the construction, representation and negotiation of ethnic, cultural, and gender differences as nuclei of existing power relations.

These two fields of focus have produced the following topics for sociological investigation at the Latin American Institute:

• Latin America in the world society

• Circulation of knowledge

• Gender relations

• Cultural differences and social inequalities

• Ecological conflicts

Cuba

Soziologie

Der Bereich Soziologie am Lateinamerika-Institut ist zugleich Teil des Fachbereichs Sozial- und Politikwissenschaften und verbindet in seinen Lehr- und Forschungsschwerpunkten den am LAI interdisziplinär orientierten Fokus auf Lateinamerika mit neueren methodischen und theoretischen Entwicklungen in verschiedenen Teilgebieten der Soziologie.

Zwei sich ergänzende Themenfelder stehen hier im Vordergrund.

Der erste Fragenkomplex ruht auf einem makrosoziologischen (Selbst-)Verständnis, das die modernisierungstheoretische Darstellung Lateinamerikas als eine rückständige Kopie der europäischen Moderne in Frage stellt. Es wird von einem Konstituierungsprozess der modernen Weltgesellschaft ausgegangen, in dem die lateinamerikanischen Gesellschaften seit der Kolonialzeit schon Bestandteil einer interdependenten Moderne waren.

Der zweite Themenkomplex bezieht sich auf Fragen von Macht und Differenzen. Es handelt sich um mikro- und kultursoziologische Ansätze, die die Konstruktion, Repräsentation und Aushandlung ethnischer, kultureller und geschlechtsspezifischer Differenz als Kernelement bestehender Herrschaftsverhältnisse behandeln.

Aus diesen beiden Interessenbereichen ergeben sich die Forschungsschwerpunkte der Soziologie am LAI. Diese wären:

  • Lateinamerika in der Weltgesellschaft
  • Wissenszirkulation
  • Geschlechterbeziehungen
  • Transnationale Migrationen
  • Kulturelle Differenzen und soziale Ungleichheiten
  • Umweltkonflikte

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sergio Costa

Sprechstundentermine finden Sie hier.

Sekretariat: Marcela Osses

Rüdesheimer Str. 54-56 - Raum 221
14197 Berlin

Tel.: 49 (0)30 838-59749
Fax: 49 (0)30 838-459749
E-Mail: m.osses@fu-berlin.de