Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Themes & Case Studies

Pesticides

© hpgruesen (Pixabay)

There is a gap between laboratory research and regulatory science, on the one hand, and actual agricultural practices and the reality of multiple, chronic exposure to chemicals on the other. Due to the effects of such disjuncture, agrobiotechnology and pesticides remain controversial technologies, targeted by social movements and subject to consumer concerns. Consequently, pesticides offer “food for thought” in understanding various dimensions of food inequalities: environmental chemical contamination, the loss of biodiversity, the contribution to climate change as fossil-fuel-based chemicals; health (through environmental exposure or consumption); knowledge asymmetries in the struggles around its safety; social and racial discrimination; gendered politicization; and global inequalities as the most hazardous pesticides prohibited in the countries that produce them are sold in developing countries. Social research on pesticides is essential because it reveals contradictions in policy discourse that need to be explored in order to improve policies and ensure that the goals of bioeconomy with safety and integrity are achieved.

Case Study:

  • National Forum Against Pesticides (Brazil)


Animal and protein farming

© hazelucyxuan (Pixabay)

Rising demands for animal protein sources and vegetable protein to feed them challenge current and future efforts to address food security. The NRSB proposes to develop animal farming technologies that are economically feasible and efficient for farmers, just to animals, and acceptable to consumers (BMBF, 2010:20-21, 2014b). In addition, animal farming must reduce its contribution to climate change through the emission of greenhouse gas and the environmental impact of vegetable protein production. Thus, animal farming touches upon complex relationships between food inequalities and has raised various societal concerns. These are voiced in numerous ways: from local initiatives against animal farming industries due to environmental contamination (water, air, soil); consumer health concerns with antibiotics and hormones; vegan movements fighting for interspecies justice; and farmers engaging in restoring the biodiversity of farm animals. Thus, animal farming is a valuable topic from which to interrogate how food security can be achieved in harmony with various dimensions of justice.

Case Study:

  • Wir haben es satt (Germany)

Wir haben es satt! (“We are fed up!”) is a series of large-scale social mobilization and one of the most prominent food and agricultural protests in Germany. Since 2011, the protest has taken place annually in Berlin at the start of the Grüne Woche (“Green Week”), an agricultural fair in Berlin and is organized by Meine Landwirtschaft (“My Agriculture”). Meine Landwirtschaft is a social coalition formed by social movements and over 50 non-governmental organizations. It aims to promote a dialogue between producers and consumers and offers alternative perspectives on food and agrarian systems, establishing a platform for the demands and visions of civil society and farmers as well as their criticism of the current political situation.


Agroecological food networks

© Renata Motta

The NRSB encourages joint research with farmers and scientists from developing countries on ecological agriculture and on locally and regionally adapted forms of production (BMBF, 2010:21-25). Products from agroecology have almost no residues of chemical fertilizers and pesticides, and this should be the aim in other types of agriculture; (indeed,) only healthy animals can guarantee health and safe animal products for consumers (BMBF, 2010:25–28). By using organic inputs and using waste materials as compost, agroecology meets the criterion of wasteless production. Furthermore, through initiatives such as seed exchanges and the cultivation of agrodiverse food traditions, agroecology contributes to generating knowledge about and maintaining one the most important resources of the bioeconomy: biodiversity. In short, starting from seeds and by integrating waste, agroecology exemplifies how a biomass-based economy can function as a circular economy.

It has been acknowledged that food security is not a matter of production alone, but involves complex relationships reaching into food distribution and consumption. The NRSB also foresees that individual expectations from consumers should be recognised and studied in order to identify new market opportunities. Indeed, societal concerns over food have given way to new markets, the major example of which is the contribution of the environmentalist movement’s critique of pesticides to the industry of organics. However, while the market of organic products grows among affluent consumers, it is not affordable for most people, both in developing and developed countries, showing another expression of social inequality in food. Agroecological food networks combine social innovations in production, commercialisation and distribution systems that partially address the shortcomings of the organic industry. Looking at these innovations is interesting because they are context-sensitive, that is, there is no blueprint solution to achieving food security (BMBF, 2014b:15). In order to be able to engage in the big questions of macro-politics, such as the debate on food security and climate change, therefore, we need to know more about everyday politics and societal innovations such as alternative food networks, community supported agriculture, the governmental procurement of agroecological and family farming products, and household gardens. Looking at these networks sheds light on social innovations and social acceptance, in contrast to the common emphasis placed on technological innovation and economic success. In short, the societal transition to a bioeconomy in terms of food must take into consideration both matter and culture, that is, both the use of natural resources and their embeddedness in social relations.

Case Studies:

  • Community Supported Agriculture – CSA (Germany)
  • The National Agroecological Articulation ANA (Brazil)
  • Belo Horizonte (Brazil)


Gender, environment and nutrition

© Rafael Fernandes

It is uncontested that food security is not primarily a matter of food production, but a complex system involving processing, trade, distribution and consumption. The latter cannot be underestimated in a world in which hunger coexists with malnutrition and obesity, affecting half of the world’s population and making food security an issue of both access and quality of food (BMBF, 2014b:8). This means that food security is an issue that also involves food cultures and care work. This brings to the fore the importance of the gender dimension in addressing the challenges of “how to feed the world”. In addition to the increasing feminisation of agrarian labour, an unequal division of care work leaves to women most tasks of food preparation. Not surprisingly, women have also been leading transitions to agroecological farming systems as well as the politicisation of pesticide use in health environmental justice movements and mobilising contentious motherhood. In fact, we are seeing a growing intersection between feminism, environmentalism and food justice.

Case Study:

  • Marcha das Margaridas (Brazil)


Food inequalities in times of Covid-19 

© PIRO4D

Effects of Corona on the food system and food inequalities:

How has the Covid-19 pandemic affected food systems and existing food inequalities? To contribute to this reflection, the Food for Justice research group included a new Case Study to their agenda and the team has been studying this phenomenon in Brazil and Germany.

While in Brazil, the indicators show that the food insecurity has been increasing since 2017 and analysis points to an intensifying trend during the pandemic, especially some groups, such as women, children and black people, the particular vulnerabilities seem to be different in Germany. Here we assume, that migrant workers in the food sector are one of the groups most vulnerable to Covid-19, due to their already precarious status. Given the potential impact of Covid-19 on different segments of the Brazilian population, we have adopted the strategy of conducting a national survey as a means of producing data that identify the impacts of the pandemic on the food consumption of different groups and how this reinforces, or not, inequalities. In the German case, based on the hypothesis that the pandemic affected mainly food workers, our strategy will be to adopt a qualitative survey based on multiple methods to understand this phenomenon.

General research questions:

  1. How does the Covid-19 pandemic display food inequalities in each country?
  2. How do pre-existing inequalities affect and shape food inequalities during and after the pandemic?
  3. Which are the most vulnerable groups and sectors in the food system in each country that become explicit and visible due to the pandemic?
  4. Does Covid-19 and the actions to combat it transform the agro-food system, and if so, how?
  5. How does Covid-19 affect the respective food movements and activists’ actions?
  6. Which new practices, new solidarities and positive transformations towards a fair and sustainable food system could be observed as reactions to the effects of the pandemics?

Case Studies:

  • Covid-19 and the Marcha das Margaridas (Brazil)
  • Impacts of Covid-19 on the Brazilian food system (Brazil)
  • Covid-19 and the migrant workers in the German food sector (Germany)

Keywords

  • Agroecological food networks
  • Animal and protein farming
  • Gender, environment and nutrition
  • Pesticides

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Themen und Fallstudien

Pestizide

© hpgruesen (Pixabay

Es besteht eine Kluft zwischen der Laborforschung und Wissenschaft auf der einen Seite, und den tatsächlichen landwirtschaftlichen Praktiken sowie der Realität des multiplen und chronischen Ausgesetzseins von Chemikalien auf der anderen Seite. Aufgrund der Auswirkungen einer solchen Diskrepanz bleiben Agrobiotechnologie und Pestizide umstrittene Technologien, die von sozialen Bewegungen ins Visier genommen werden und bei denen Verbraucher*innen Bedenken äußern. Folglich bieten Pestizide "Denkanstöße" für das Verständnis verschiedener Dimensionen von Ungleichheiten in der Ernährung: chemische Umweltverschmutzung, Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt, Beitrag zum Klimawandel von Chemikalien auf fossiler Brennstoffbasis; Gesundheit (durch Umwelteinflüsse oder Verbrauch); Wissensasymmetrien über Sicherheit und Folgen von Pestiziden; soziale und rassistische Diskriminierung; geschlechtsspezifische Politisierung; und globale Ungleichheiten, da die gefährlichsten Pestizide, die in den Ländern, die sie produzieren, verboten sind, in Entwicklungsländern verkauft werden. Sozialforschung über Pestizide ist von wesentlicher Bedeutung, weil sie Widersprüche im politischen Diskurs aufdeckt. Diese müssen untersucht werden, um die Politik zu verbessern und sicherzustellen, dass die Ziele einer Bioökonomie mit Sicherheit und Integrität erreicht werden.

Fallstudie:

  • Campanha Permanente Contra os Agrotóxicos e Pela Vida (Brasilien)


Tierhaltung und Produktion von tierischen Proteinen

© hazelucyxuan (Pixabay

Die steigende Nachfrage nach tierischem Protein und pflanzlichen Eiweißquellen zur Aufzucht stellt eine Herausforderung für die gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Bemühungen um die Ernährungssicherheit dar. Die Nationale Forschungsstrategie für Bioökonomie (NRSB) schlägt vor, Technologien für die Tierhaltung zu entwickeln, die wirtschaftlich umsetzbar und effizient für die Landwirt*innen sind, Gerechtigkeit gegenüber den gehaltenen Tieren garantieren und gleichzeitig akzeptabel für die Verbraucher*innen bleiben (BMBF, 2010:20-21, 2014b). Darüber hinaus muss die Tierhaltung ihren Beitrag zum Klimawandel durch die Reduktion der Emission von Treibhausgasen sowie der negativen Umwelteinflüsse der pflanzlichen Eiweißproduktion leisten. Somit verbindet das Thema Tierhaltung komplexe Beziehungen zwischen Ungleichheiten bei der Nahrungsmittelversorgung und wirft verschiedene gesellschaftliche Bedenken auf. Diese werden auf vielfältige Weise zum Ausdruck gebracht: von lokalen Initiativen gegen die Tierzuchtindustrie aufgrund von Umweltverschmutzung (Wasser, Luft, Boden); gesundheitliche Bedenken der Verbraucher*innen im Zusammenhang mit Antibiotika und Hormonen; vegane Bewegungen, die für artenübergreifende Gerechtigkeit kämpfen; und Landwirt*innen, die sich für die Wiederherstellung der biologischen Vielfalt von Nutztieren einsetzen. Daher ist die Tierhaltung ein wichtiges Feld, von dem aus man sich fragen kann, wie Ernährungssicherheit im Zusammenspiel mit verschiedenen Dimensionen der Gerechtigkeit erreicht werden kann.

Fallstudie:

  • Wir haben es satt (Deutschland)


Agroökologische Lebensmittelnetzwerke

© Renata Mott

Die NRSB fördert die gemeinsame Forschung mit Landwirt*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen aus Entwicklungsländern zur ökologischen Landwirtschaft und zu lokal und regional angepassten Produktionsformen (BMBF, 2010:21-25). Produkte aus der Agrarökologie weisen fast keine Rückstände von chemischen Düngemitteln und Pestiziden auf, und dies sollte auch in anderen Formen der Landwirtschaft angestrebt werden; nur gesunde Tiere können Gesundheit und sichere Produkte für die Verbraucher*innen garantieren (BMBF, 2010:25-28). Durch die Verwendung organischer Erzeugnisse und von Abfallstoffen als Kompost erfüllt die Agrarökologie das Kriterium der abfallfreien Produktion. Darüber hinaus trägt sie durch Initiativen wie dem Austausch von Saatgut und die Pflege agrodiverser Ernährungstraditionen dazu bei, Wissen über eine der wichtigsten Ressourcen der Bioökonomie zu generieren und zu erhalten: die Biodiversität. Kurz gesagt, ausgehend vom Saatgut und durch die Integration von Abfällen veranschaulicht die Agrarökologie, wie eine biomassebasierte Agrarwirtschaft als Kreislaufwirtschaft funktionieren kann.

Es ist allgemein anerkannt, dass Ernährungssicherheit nicht nur eine reine Frage der Produktion ist, sondern komplexe Beziehungen beinhaltet, die bis zur Verteilung und zum Konsum von Nahrungsmitteln reichen. Die NRSB sieht auch vor, dass die individuellen Erwartungen der Verbraucher*innen erkannt und untersucht werden sollten, um neue Marktchancen zu erkennen. In der Tat haben gesellschaftliche Bedenken über Lebensmittel neue Märkte geschaffen, das wichtigste Beispiel des Beitrags der Kritik der Umweltbewegung an Pestiziden zur Bioindustrie. Doch während der Markt für Bioprodukte für wohlhabende Verbraucher*innen wächst, ist er für die meisten Menschen, sowohl in Entwicklungs- als auch in Industrieländern, bleiben diese Konsumgüter unerschwinglich. Hier sieht man erneut wie sich soziale Ungleichheut anhand des Zugangs zu Lebensmitteln zeigt. Agroökologische Nahrungsmittelnetzwerke kombinieren soziale Innovationen in Produktion, Kommerzialisierung und Vertriebssystemen, die teilweise die Unzulänglichkeiten der Biobranche beheben. Der Blick auf diese Innovationen ist interessant, weil sie kontextsensitiv sind, d.h. es gibt keine Patentlösung zur Erreichung von Ernährungssicherheit (BMBF, 2014b:15). Um uns auf die großen Fragen der Makropolitik, wie die Debatte über Ernährungssicherheit und Klimawandel, einlassen zu können, müssen wir daher mehr über Alltagspolitik und gesellschaftliche Innovationen wie alternative Nahrungsnetzwerke, solidarische Landwirtschaft, die staatliche Beschaffung agrarökologischer und familienbetriebener Produkte und Hausgärten forschen. Die Analyse dieser Netzwerke wirft ein Licht auf soziale Innovationen und gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz, im Gegensatz zu der gemeinsamen Betonung von technologischer Innovation und wirtschaftlichem Erfolg. Kurz gesagt, der gesellschaftliche Übergang zu einer Bioökonomie in Bezug auf Lebensmittel muss sowohl Materie als auch Kultur berücksichtigen, d.h. sowohl die Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen als auch ihre Einbettung in soziale Beziehungen.

Fallstudien:

  • Solidarische Landwirtschaft - Solawi (Deutschland)
  • Articulação Nacional de Agroecologica - ANA (Brasilien)
  • Belo Horizonte (Brasilien)


Geschlecht, Umwelt und Ernährung

© Rafael Fernande

Es ist unbestritten, dass Ernährungssicherheit nicht in erster Linie eine Frage der Nahrungsmittelproduktion ist, sondern eines komplexen Systems, das Verarbeitung, Handel, Verteilung und Konsum umfasst. Letzteres darf in einer Welt, in der Hunger mit Unterernährung und Fettleibigkeit koexistiert, von der die Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung betroffen nicht unterschätzt werden. Ernährungssicherheit wird zu einer Frage des Zugangs zu und der Qualität von Nahrungsmitteln (BMBF, 2014b:8). Das bedeutet, dass Ernährungssicherheit ein Thema ist, das auch Ernährungskulturen und Pflegearbeit einschließt. Dies rückt die Bedeutung der Geschlechterdimension bei der Bewältigung der Herausforderungen, "wie man die Welt ernähren kann", in den Vordergrund. Neben der zunehmenden Feminisierung der Arbeit in der Landwirtschaft überlässt eine ungleiche Verteilung der Fürsorgearbeit den Frauen* die meisten Aufgaben der Nahrungsmittelzubereitung. Es überrascht nicht, dass Frauen* die Übergänge zu agroökologischen Landwirtschaftssystemen sowie die Politisierung des Pestizideinsatzes maßgeblich vorangetrieben haben und sich in Bewegungen für gesundheitliche Umweltgerechtigkeit stark machen sowie sich bei der Mobilisierung ganz besonders für das Thema Mutterschaft einsetzen. Tatsächlich beobachten wir eine wachsende Schnittmenge zwischen Feminismus, Umweltschutz und Nahrungsgerechtigkeit.

Fallstudie:

  • Marcha das Margaridas (Brasilien)


Ungleiche Ernährung in Zeiten von Covid-19 

© PIRO4

Auswirkungen von Corona auf das Lebensmittelsystem und die Ungleichheiten bei der Ernährung:

Wie wirkt sich die Covid-19-Pandemie auf das Lebensmittelsystem und bestehende Ungleichheiten in der Ernährung aus? Um zu dieser Reflexion beizutragen, hat die Forschungsgruppe Food for Justice eine neue Fallstudie in ihre Agenda aufgenommen und untersucht die Folgen der Krise in Brasilien und Deutschland.

Während in Brasilien die Indikatoren zeigen, dass die Ernährungsunsicherheit seit 2017 zunimmt und die Analyse auf eine Verschärfung während der Pandemie hindeutet, insbesondere bei einigen Gruppen wie Frauen, Kindern und Schwarzen, scheinen die besonderen Verletzlichkeiten in Deutschland anders zu sein. Hier gehen wir davon aus, dass Gastarbeiter*innen in der Lebensmittelbranche aufgrund ihres ohnehin schon prekären Status eine der am stärksten gefährdeten Gruppen für Covid-19 sind.

Angesichts der potenziellen Auswirkungen von Covid-19 auf verschiedene Segmente der brasilianischen Bevölkerung verfolgt Food for Justice die Strategie, mit Hilfe einer landesweiten Umfrage, Daten zu erfassen, die die Auswirkungen der Pandemie auf den Lebensmittelkonsum verschiedener Gruppen aufzeigen, um nachzuvollziehen, wie diese die verschiedenen Ebenen der Ungleichheit verstärken. Im deutschen Fall basierend auf der Hypothese, dass die Pandemie vor allem Beschäftigte in der Lebensmittelindustrie betrifft, wird eine qualitative Umfrage durchgeführt, die mehrere Methoden umfasst.

Allgemeine Forschungsfragen:

  • Wie zeigt die Covid-19-Pandemie die Ungleichheiten im Lebensmittelbereich in jedem Land?
  • Wie beeinflussen und formen vorbestehende Ungleichheiten die Nahrungsmittelungleichheiten während und nach der Pandemie?
  • Welches sind die am meisten gefährdeten Gruppen und Sektoren im Ernährungssystem in jedem Land, die durch die Pandemie explizit und sichtbar werden?
  • Verändert Covid-19 und die Maßnahmen zu seiner Bekämpfung das Agrar- und Lebensmittelsystem, und wenn ja, wie?
  • Wie wirkt sich Covid-19 auf die jeweiligen Lebensmittelbewegungen und Aktionen der Aktivisten aus?
  • Welche neuen Praktiken, neuen Solidaritäten und positiven Transformationen hin zu einem fairen und nachhaltigen Lebensmittelsystem konnten als Reaktionen auf die Auswirkungen der Pandemien beobachtet werden?

Fallstudien:

  • Covid-19 und die Marcha das Margaridas (Brasilien)
  • Auswirkungen von Covid-19 auf das brasilianische Lebensmittelsystem (Brasilien)
  • Covid-19 und die Arbeitsmigranten in der deutschen Lebensmittelbranche (Deutschland)

Schlagwörter

  • Agroecological food networks
  • Animal and protein farming
  • Gender, environment and nutrition
  • Pesticides