Cuba

Doctoral Degree

Doctoral students at the Institute for Latin American Studies have the opportunity to individually customize their dissertation in one of the Institute’s disciplines or in a structured doctoral program. Both models offer optimal supervision and a diverse program in the form of colloquia, workshops and other events.

Established in 2008, the doctoral program “Latin American Studies from a Comparative and Transregional Perspective” belongs to a select group of structured doctoral programs at the Freie Universität Berlin, which are supervised by the Dahlem Research School (DRS). The DRS supports doctoral students with a variety of services, ranging from mentoring and consultation to financial support for travel and research and the planning of conferences and conventions.

LAI’s doctoral students can apply for acceptance to the Institute’s doctoral program. The doctoral program includes the German-Mexican International Research Training Group “Between Spaces. Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalization,” which offers students a separate program emphasizing globalization research.

Another part of the doctoral program is the International Research Network “Interdependent Inequalities in Latin America” ​​(desiguALdades.net), which is sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and also has its own program offerings.

Cuba

Promotion

Promovierende am Lateinamerika-Institut haben die Möglichkeit, ihre Dissertation individuell in einer der am Lateinamerika-Institut vertretenen Disziplinen oder in einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm anzufertigen. Beide Modelle bieten eine optimale Betreuung und ein vielseitiges Programm in Form von Colloquien, Workshops und anderen Veranstaltungen.

Der seit 2008 bestehende Promotionsstudiengang „Lateinamerikastudien aus vergleichender und transregionaler Perspektive“ gehört zu einer ausgewählten Gruppe strukturierter Promotionsstudiengänge der Freien Universität Berlin, die von der Dahlem Research School (DRS) betreut werden. Die DRS bietet den Promovierenden einen vielseitigen Service in Form von Betreuung, Beratung und finanzieller Unterstützung bei Forschungsreisen und bei der Organisation von Tagungen und Kongressen.

Promovend/innen des LAI können die Aufnahme in den Promotionsstudiengang beantragen. Zum Promotionsstudiengang gehört das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) geförderte deutsch-mexikanische Internationale Graduiertenkolleg „Zwischen Räumen: Bewegungen, Akteure und Repräsentationen der Globalisierung“, das ein eigenes Programm mit dem Schwerpunkt der Globalisierungsforschung anbietet.

Ebenfalls Teil des Promotionsstudiengangs ist das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte internationale Kompetenznetzwerk „Interdependente Ungleichheiten in Lateinamerika“ (desiguALdades.net), das auch eigene Veranstaltungen im Programm hat.