Cuba

The Doctoral Program

The doctoral program is largely concerned with the states, cultures and societies of Latin America and gives young researchers the opportunity to complete their doctorate in an interdisciplinary and internationally oriented curriculum and research program. During the course of the program and the research process, different perspectives are brought together and expanded on with interdisciplinary and regional knowledge. The normal degree program requires six semesters.

The goal of the doctoral program is to train highly qualified researchers and provide them with the necessary support for carrying out exceptional research in their chosen areas of specialization (Cultural and Social Anthropology, Gender Studies, History, Literature and Cultures of Latin American, Economics, Political Science and Sociology).

Because the shared research object of Latin America has be reconceived in many ways, it is necessary to continually review and reconstruct the division of labor between specialized regional knowledge transfer and systematically oriented disciplines. For this reason, the majority of doctoral theses written at LAI take an interdisciplinary approach. The complex economic, social and cultural transformations in Latin America also call into question the research perspectives of the individual disciplines.

More information on the doctoral program can found at: www.lai.fu-berlin.de/entre-espacios/  and www.desigualdades.net.

Cuba

Promotionsstudiengang

Der Promotionsstudiengang „Lateinamerikastudien aus vergleichender und transregionaler Perspektive“ befasst sich insbesondere mit Staaten, Kulturen und Gesellschaften Lateinamerikas und bietet den Nachwuchswissenschaftler/innen die Möglichkeit, in einem interdisziplinär und international ausgerichteten Studien- und Forschungsprogramm zu promovieren. Im Studienverlauf und während der wissenschaftlichen Forschungsarbeit werden unterschiedliche Perspektiven zusammengeführt und um interdisziplinäre regionalspezifische Kenntnisse erweitert. Die Regelstudiendauer beträgt sechs Semester.

Das Ziel des Promotionsstudiengangs ist die Ausbildung hoch qualifizierter Wissenschaftler/innen, die dabei unterstützt werden sollen, exzellente Forschungsarbeiten im Bereich ihrer Wahl durchzuführen (Altamerikanistik/ Kulturanthropologie, Gender Studies, Geschichte, Literaturen und Kulturen Lateinamerikas, Ökonomie, Politikwissenschaft und Soziologie).

Angesichts der Rekonfigurationen des gemeinsamen Untersuchungsgegenstands Lateinamerika gilt es, die Arbeitsteilung zwischen regional spezialisierter Wissensvermittlung und systematisch orientierten Disziplinen ständig zu überprüfen und neu zu strukturieren. Die Mehrzahl der am LAI verfassten Dissertationen ist daher interdisziplinär ausgerichtet. Zudem stellen die vielschichtigen ökonomischen, sozialen und kulturellen Transformationen in Lateinamerika zunehmend die Forschungsperspektiven der Einzeldisziplinen in Frage.

Weitere Informationen zum Promotionsstudium finden sich auch unter www.lai.fu-berlin.de/entre-espacios/ und www.desigualdades.net.

Promovieren an der Freien Universität Berlin