Institute

The Institute for Latin American Studies (LAI) at Freie Universität Berlin was founded in 1970 as an interdisciplinary central institute in response to the national German university reform. At the Institute, seven disciplines are represented in research and teaching in the social sciences and cultural studies. Seven professors and about 50 research associates currently work at the Institute, conducting research on a range of ongoing projects. LAI is Germany’s largest institute for research on Latin America and is also one of Europe’s leading institutions for Latin American Studies.

The following disciplines are represented at the Institute for Latin American Studies:

LAI’s course offerings are based on an area studies- model of interdisciplinary teaching and research and equip students with strong regional expertise. At the Institute, students may pursue the research-oriented Master’s program “Interdisciplinary Latin American Studies” as well as the interdisciplinary 30-credit module “Latin American Studies” within the scope of other BA programs. The disciplines represented at LAI also offer opportunities for specialization on Latin America within other departmental programs.

In 2009, LAI founded the International Research Training Group “Between Spaces. Movements, Actors and Representations of Globalization”, which was followed in 2010 by the establishment of the Research Network on “Interdependent Inequalities in Latin America” (desiguALdades.net). Each provides an exceptional environment for international study and research to qualified young academics.

The Brazil Research Center (Forschungszentrum Brasilien) was also founded in 2010. The Center provides an umbrella for research in cultural and social sciences focusing on “Brazil in the global context”.

The research location of Berlin/Brandenburg offers an exceptional variety of universities and other research institutions that concentrate on Latin America and other world regions.

Zwischen Räumen
Desigualdades
Forschungszentrum Brasilien

Cuba

Institut

Das Lateinamerika-Institut (LAI) der Freien Universität Berlin wurde 1970 im Zuge der Universitätsreform als ein interdisziplinäres Zentralinstitut (ZI) gegründet. Am Institut sind sieben sozial- und kulturwissenschaftliche Fächer in Forschung und Lehre vertreten. Zurzeit arbeiten und forschen sieben Professor/innen und mehr als 25 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter/innen am Institut und in den dort angesiedelten Forschungsprojekten. Das LAI ist damit das größte Institut für Lateinamerikaforschung in Deutschland und es gehört auch europaweit zu den führenden Institutionen für Lateinamerikastudien.

Am Lateinamerika-Institut sind folgende Disziplinen vertreten:

Die Studienangebote bauen auf der interdisziplinären Lehre und Forschung des LAI und der area studies auf und vermitteln ausgeprägte regionalspezifische Expertise. Am Institut können der forschungsorientierte Masterstudiengang „Interdisziplinäre Lateinamerikastudien“ sowie ein interdisziplinäres 30-Leistungspunkte Modulangebot „Lateinamerikastudien“ im Rahmen anderer BA-Studiengänge studiert werden. Daneben bieten die am LAI vertretenen Disziplinen auch in anderen Studiengängen der Fachbereiche Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten auf die Region Lateinamerika an.

Im Jahre 2009 wurde am LAI das Internationale Graduiertenkolleg „Zwischen Räumen. Bewegungen, Akteure und Repräsentationen der Globalisierung“ eingerichtet, im Jahre 2010 folgte das Kompetenznetz „Interdependente Ungleichheitsforschung in Lateinamerika“ (desiguALdades.net). Sie bieten qualifizierten Nachwuchswissenschaftler/innen eine exzellente internationale Studien- und Forschungsumgebung.

Im Jahr 2010 wurde am LAI auch das „Forschungszentrum Brasilien“ gegründet. Es bietet ein Dach für kultur- und sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungsaktivitäten mit dem Fokus auf „Brasilien im Weltkontext“.

Der Wissenschaftsstandort Berlin/ Brandenburg verfügt darüber hinaus über eine außergewöhnliche Vielfalt an universitären und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen zu Lateinamerika und anderen Weltregionen.

Links